You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Invest in Seasteading: ICO Pre-Sale

in #seasteading6 years ago (edited)

I've heard about this! From my adventurous side, I think it is wonderful, extremely aesthetically pleasing, etc. My more cautious side worries about mega tsunamis though. Japan, 3-11-11, proved they CAN happen, and that was not even with a 10-super quake, or oceanic meteor strike. As long as the structures and major infrastructure can be made strong enough to resist mega-tsunamis (and there a quick evac plan in place to deal with them)...let's go!

Sort:  

That's a major hazard for coastal settlements but not for boats or seasteads. The wave only lifts up out of the ocean when it reaches land. Out at sea, it just travels like a shockwave underneath whatever is floating on the surface ;)

So these are going to be built far out to sea? I was under the impression they were talking about building them fairly close to land...

Actually, a meteor-strike tsunami could bring a rolling mountain of water, even in deep water, of a hundred feet high or more. That's going to take a lot of "over engineering" to survive, even if it's not the 500-foot-tall breakers that the same tsunami will cause at the shore.

The first little one will be close to the coast at first and then they'll move farther out as they grow. Ultimately, the plan is to have them out in international waters so that they can be legally autonomous without having to play by a host nation's rules.

Oh, I love the concept...especially the autonomous, out-to-sea bit. Sadly, I'll betcha the U.N. will get in the way and outlaw that, but we can hope... I just don't trust the global elite to ever allow there to be a place they can't tax or control.

Yeah, I'm sure it'll get really interesting once they start rocking the boat. I'm game for a good adventure though :)

TO BE SURE!! Me, too.

I like to poke the monster in the eye every time I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77