You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eclipses - Magnificence & Mystery

in #science7 years ago

I've watched a whole documentary on Chaco Canyon. It was mindblowing.

I've never heard about what the Virgo Cathedrals of Northern France. The article looks interesting. I'll have a look later.

Sort:  

Was that The Mystery of Chaco Canyon?

Fascinating doco, if not let me know, I missed something :)

I came across Anna Sofaer's work around the time I was able to do a couple sojourns to Chaco, circa 1990, just some papers at the time. Wasn't till I saw the doco years later that I grasped the extent of the 18.6 year lunar calendar embedded in the landscape design and architecture.

In the mid-1970s I read a book Mystery of Chartres Cathedral by Louis Charpentier, or Louie the Carpenter as I'd refer to him, which showed the Virgo / Notre Dame relationships. So nice to have the net to look these things up these days.

Here's a slide I'm working on for some planned workshops, the Virgo / Notre Dame images are scanned from my old paperback of Charpentier's work.

virgo notre dame cathedrals.PNG

And the area of Virgo in the cosmos is most interesting, containing several direct challenges to standard cosmology. An upcoming post will discuss some of this:

anisotropy virgo alignment.PNG

THE VIRGO ALIGNMENT PUZZLE IN PROPAGATION OF RADIATION ON COSMOLOGICAL SCALES

reference link: http://www.worldscientific.com/doi/abs/10.1142/S0218271804005948

PDF: https://arxiv.org/pdf/astro-ph/0311430.pdf

The Mystery of Chaco Canyon

Yup. That's the one I saw.

And just to blow your mind a bit more, just for fun.

The Paleolithic cave paintings are actually star maps. The work of Chantal Jègues-Wolkiewiez is brilliant, a documentary is around, if somewhat hard to find:

http://www.bonnepioche.us/tv/documentaries/lascaux-prehistoric-astronomers-p1080.html

As you can see from this picture in the upper left of this slide, which was taken from that documentary, the solstices and equinoxes are mapped into these bulls.

Lascaux alignments.PNG

This is deep in Lascaux cave, the bull on the left is moulting, the one on the right is erect, their eyes mark the Summer and Winter Solstice Sun risings on the horizon, the tails are intertwined marking the Equinox rising. The Winter rising on the right signals movement towards the Spring and Summer, the one on the left, the Summer Solstice rising, signals moving towards the Autumn and Winter.

What is most fascinating is that this is the exact alignment point if the cave were transparent! So how did these supposedly primitive 'cavemen', scrawling masterpieces of art on cave walls as magic to catch them, or whatever the current guesswork claims, figure out these alignments through the cave walls? Much more to the story, as there are many caves involved.

and this:

https://mathildasanthropologyblog.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/15000-year-old-lunar-calendar-at-lascaux-caves-france/

I knew these drawings marked some celestial bodies. I kind of know a lot of this stuff. I didn't remember specifically about what they represented so that is nice to remember this now.

I know so many landmarks from the prehistoric world do represent some celestial bodies.

I've also seen very compelling evidences about how a lot of cave paintings represented psychedelic experiences. Here's a short primer on this.

http://gizmodo.com/scientists-think-cavemen-painted-while-high-on-hallucin-786996190

I've pondered if the higher order neurotransmitters, as we'll call them, allowed them to see the cosmic courses and alignments, and possibly even through the cave walls for that phase. Which seems silly in our discursive state of consciousness, but what do we really know when faced with these enigmas.
Rudolf Steiner said that wisdom and knowledge came from the stars, and I believe he meant the structures as they appear from Earth, hence the "anthro"posophy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98