You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree of Life: Migrating to land - learning to breathe!

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Now I've seen how animals migrated to land and "learnt" how to breathe air. But one creature that quite amazes me is the "lungfish" which has the ability to breath in both air (through the lungs), as well as water like the normal fish. Could this also be a case of convergent evolution? Just thinking

Sort:  

I edited this information out because this was about 3,000 words before I cut it down, but interestingly there are examples of amphibians and reptiles today that use both types of breathing when exerting energy in heavy exercise, such as escaping from predators.

I imagine given how each system has an original, separate purpose, it's kind of sensible for lungfish to do that, and they evolved a little more recently than what we're learning in this article, about 277mya, so I guess it fits in place nicely. It doesn't really fit the description of convergent evolution, though lungs did evolve several times separately =)

Ok buddy. Thanks for the quick tutorial.
I've understood it better now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48