New Horizons: History Made In Our Lifetime

in #science7 years ago (edited)

space.jpg

Hello Steemians it's time for another of my posts which I sincerely hope brings a smile to your face. So here it goes... Over eleven years ago on January 19, 2006 a spacecraft the size of a grand piano travelled on top of a rocket & reached speeds in excess of 36,000 m/p/h.

The New Horizons is a probe with the task of touring and mapping our solar system by flying past Pluto and its moons. On board are 7 major scientific instruments and a generator fueled by decaying plutonium and a few other things. I.e. a container with the ashes of Clyde Tombaugh the astronomer who discovered Pluto in 1930. Two american flags, two U.S. quarters, a C.D. with the names of 434,000 people who signed up in 2005, a C.D. with pics of the New Horizons team, a piece of SpaceShipOne (the first privately owned space craft) and a U.S. stamp from 1991 that reads "Pluto not yet explored".

The New Horizons has been flying for over a decade. So to wrap your mind around this you must understand that Pluto is very, very, very far away. Depending on their location around the Sun the distances between Earth and Pluto vary from 4.67 to 2.66 BILLION miles apart from each other. Despite this immense distance NASA engineers have successfully navigated NEW Horizons towards its target and retrieved data in return via radio waves. It takes over 4hrs 30minutes from space craft to Earth to receive the data. A 200ft diameter satelite dish is needed which can only receive 1 kilobit per second (Basically 50 times slower than a 1990's modem).

The most important peices of information the New Horizons is taking are photos of Pluto because we don't have any good ones... until now. Watch photographic history being made. (There's no audio on either video so play your favorite song and watch!)

Becaust the New Horizons has run out of feul it is traveling around 31,000 m/p/h and can not slow down upon reaching Pluto so these images are taken as quickly as possible. After it passes Pluto it's going to keep on going and in 2019 it will fly near a small icy object on the edge of our solar system.

Bonus Video: New Horizons flying past Pluto's largest moon Charon

steemitbord2.png
Here are some links of my posts that are similar:

https://steemit.com/science/@mithrilweed/finding-a-second-earth-is-not-a-matter-of-if-but-when

https://steemit.com/science/@mithrilweed/where-did-it-all-begin
steemitbord2.png

I would love to be able to fly at least to Earth's moon and back but until then I'll just have to settle for what NASA gives me.

Please remember to Upvote, Resteem & Comment on this post.

Image Source

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

Pluto looks like a goofy ball that is spongy red. Reminds me of pomegranate and red velvet. Lol! I dunno know. Maybe I'm just hungry. The name Charon is funny moon. We have a celebrity here in the Philippines named Sharon. Interesting post man. Are you a rocket scientist? My brother would love to meet you. :-P

Charon or Kharon is the ferryman of Hades who carries souls of the newly deceased across the rivers Styx... which is a bit morbid.

Pluto is definitely weird and mountainous for sure, as well as Charon.

Not a rocket scientist... I just like outer space and everything unknown. Waiting for the mothership to return...

giphy-downsized (5).gif

Big baller! I'm learning a lot from you. That gif though, reminds me of Patrick Star from Sponge Bob.

Lol... just made another post

https://steemit.com/travel/@mithrilweed/hubble-telescope-live-and-my-further-adventures

but my gif was from the movie

coneh.jpg

if you've not seen it worth a look-see, Sci Fi comedy

so pointy! Be careful not to fall on top on them. hahaha!

Very nice picture, the colors are beautiful. I will not have done better aha

Nice gif... steem on.

whats up with all the bots invading this platform with those silly comments like nice picture I could not have done myself. Anyhow good informative post. upvoted and following for more.

Appreciate your thoughts on the matter as you are correct..... but at this point I'll take all the votes I can get LOL.

Very nice job friend.

Tyvm glad you enjoyed my post

Very interesting journey. So many stuff.)))

I already wanted to go there)) @mithrilweed

:-) Very long journey to get there and back though

This was actually really entertaining and informing! And as you hoped for, you brought a smile to me!!

Glad you enjoyed.

SO COOL!! I'm surprised by the quality of the video. Way to go, Nasa ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37