You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 2 of a 4-day Mountain Retreat

in #science6 years ago (edited)

As someone who also practices hypnosis and NLP, I'm interested in learning more about your experiences and work. Have you continued with the training after you completed this class? Has it influenced / affected your work in the neuroscience world?

In particular I'd love to hear more about the 6 trance-depths models. I follow quite a few other hypnotists and trainers of hypnosis, and it doesn't seem like there's a ton of consensus on the benefits of distinguishing so finely between the levels.

Thanks for sharing. I'll follow you for related posts.

Sort:  

I have continued practicing with the students at my summer enrichment camp/school. I have not been to any of the national meetings where they do professional development or taken the certification test, partly because I haven't found a quiet place where I can meet with clients to build up the 25 hours of practice necessary. They don't seem to want a stranger in their homes, and while my dog is quite welcoming, she's not quiet. Reaching out to existing local practitioners about renting their space has not worked, either.

Other stuff will have to wait a bit, but I plan on doing some reviews of the books that I got during the training. Stay tuned. And thanks for your interest. Looks from your page like you're in Philadelphia?

That's good. Finding some way to use it, even in whatever capacity you're able is important for retention and integration.

I am in Philadelphia, yes. Despite our sports fans tearing the place up after we won the Superbowl, it's a fairly decent place to live. :D We even have a few accomplished scifi authors to call our own such as Tom Purdom, Fran Wilde and one of my favorite's Michael Swanwick.

I noticed you're also a scifi blogger and so read a few of your blogposts and it's very cool stuff! I'm fascinated by the concepts dicussed in the Morphic Madness entry, so very much enjoyed that.

If your NLP program will accept working remotely with clients towards your 25 credit hours, I highly recommend doing it that way. It's convenient for both parties, eliminates the uncertainty / trust issues, and it's for the most part just as effective as doing it inperson. Some of the techniques that require hand-gestures and movements, may not work quite as well via skype / zoom, but there are ways to work around them. If I can be of help with that or anything else related to hypnosis & NLP please let me know. The mind-body connection and anything related are definitely among my favorite topics.

Thanks for the distance learning suggestion. My teacher makes audio recordings for her clients, which she says are pretty effective. Have you had any success recruiting clients from Steemit?

I have not explored NLP, just classic hypnosis as taught by the National Guild of Hypnotists. https://ngh.net

I've also not read Swanwick, though I have a copy of Vacuum Flowers that someone loaned me on the nightstand. Too many books ...

If you liked the mind-body stuff, try reading another column I wrote there called "The Placebo Files" http://www.intergalacticmedicineshow.com/cgi-bin/mag.cgi?do=columns&vol=randall_hayes&article=014

Sorry I don't know why I got confused you were doing hypnosis, and not nlp. The training I took was also an NGH course. They offer a a really good program, hope you're enjoying it.

I think Steemit can probably be a decent channel for getting a few clients, though I haven't given it the effort just yet.

Placebo is a fascinating subject, and it's why hypnosis works so wonderfully well. The subconscious mind doesn't distinguish between real and imagine and can dramatically alter a person on the physical level. Thanks for the heads up, I'll definitely check out your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22