Same planet, so many surfaces

in #science5 years ago

Jupiter's four principal moon demonstrate intriguing levels of variety.

One volcanic moon and three ice moons.

The volcanic moon owes its uniqueness to its close proximity to Jupiter. The others, as their proximity to jupiter decreases, display older and older surface features.

Thus in the sequence of moons we see the results of lesser and lesser impact of Jupiter's massive gravity and consequent tidal forces and the tidal heating that goes with it.

Jupiter.moons1.jpg
Public Domain, Link

Sort:  
I'm fascinated by the post about space themes, I'm currently in the game Next Colony, trying to develop my planet and build more advanced ships, I'm going to take time tomorrow to read more of your publications, which I liked very much. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83