You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is the Single Best Evidence Flat Earthers Have, and it Still Proves the Earth is a Sphere

in #science7 years ago

To what do you attribute all the flat horizons in your photos? I'm speaking of the left to right aspect which is not showing the curve. Shouldn't they be bulging up in the middle and going down on each side in the model you believe in?

Sort:  

The answer to your question is in the previous article https://steemit.com/science/@kerriknox/if-we-lived-on-a-sphere-wouldn-t-buildings-appear-to-lean.

How much of a bulge do you think there should be? If you're sure that you should be seeing a bulge in those photos, please provide math and diagrams backing up how much bulge you think there should be.

I'm not sure of anything and just came to this topic recently. I'm just wondering if anyone can ever see the curve. So far I haven't see one in any of the arguments I've been noticing. I look at videos on why the earth is round, but it seems flat in the horizons I see in their videos. Is the left to right curve non-discernible or non-existent?

My question is not the math of why the earth is round, but why no one can ever see the curve. I am frequent flyer, so I started looking for it out the windows and so far it's been flat everywhere even with the bubble windows of airplanes or whatever that argument is.

I'm not "sure" I should be seeing a bulge up in the middle and down on the sides other than that is a view that makes sense to me if I'm looking at a ball and what I see on smaller balls.

Buildings, I think should be below the horizon after a few miles based on the geometry of any ball.

I've asked this question to a few people in probably the last 6 weeks. Do you have any help on a visual level for those of us who aren't into math? Pictures of balls with view lines seem to indicate that we are seeing something different than the model.

"Do you have any help on a visual level for those of us who aren't into math? "

Read through through Kerri's posts. They're very educational, with and without math.

"Buildings, I think should be below the horizon after a few miles based on the geometry of any ball."

You're on a REALLY REALLY big ball.

"Pictures of balls with view lines seem to indicate that we are seeing something different than the model."

Not when you understand the model, which includes that we're on a REALLY REALLY big ball.

"Is the left to right curve non-discernible or non-existent?"

Non-discernible or barely discernible in no way = non-existent. The key here is we're on a really really big ball. Also, there's plenty of pictures showing curve (again, read through Kerri's Everyday Science posts), it seems odd you've never seen one.

As far as the 'out the airplane' view....I've been on planes the last couple weeks and totally didn't even think about looking outside to see curve or not (the mountains and plains were so pretty). I can't remember if I've seen curve or not. I'll have to make a point to do that next time I fly.

I've been using the edge of an airplane magazine up against the windows and it's been flat each time I've looked.

I don't think the size of the ball changes the geometry. I'm pretty sure scaling up does not mean a round ball appears flat.

I have looked back that these posts when I first read this post and it's back to math. I'm just wondering if anyone can ever see the curve. We know the work of the thieves at nasa is all fake, so those mocked up photos don't count.

And my main question stands - why does a long left to right horizon appear flat on a ball? It seems that the horizon should drop off in all 360 degrees, but it's flat in all instead. I can't find the video now, but some guy was out in a boat showing his 360 degree view; not dropping off on any side.

"I don't think the size of the ball changes the geometry."

It doesn't.

"I'm pretty sure scaling up does not mean a round ball appears flat."

Then you drastically misunderstand the scale of the ball you're talking about.

"It seems that the horizon should drop off in all 360 degrees, but it's flat in all instead."

Of course it appears flat. Geez.

"I can't find the video now, but some guy was out in a boat showing his 360 degree view; not dropping off on any side."

Why do you think you would see any 'drop off'. How could you possibly see drop off, ever? All you'll ever see is horizon line.

What kind of flat ball have you got yourself convinced of? I've asked a few people about this since I heard of it, but no one has come up with the idea that you can never see the curve anywhere. That seems preposterous.

If you project your idea out thousands of miles in all directions - you are actually describing the flat earth argument just as they say it.

I said YOU will never see a curve. From where you're standing. I didn't say there wasn't a curve.

It is preposterous that nobody can see a curve anywhere ever. That's why I didn't say anything even close to that.

Do you have a photo of one anywhere?

The ball is round, you are just too small and so it appears flat from your perspective.

I think that math is wrong. A ball drops off right away unless you are thinking of a soccer ball.

You have seen the curve thousands of times in your life.

Ever climbed a hill to see further? That is the curve. See my article on it here.

https://steemit.com/science/@kerriknox/proving-the-curvature-of-the-earth-yourself-with-nothing-but-a-ladder

Ever been on a boat and seen the horizon do a 360 circle around you? That is the curve.

Ever seen the horizon at the beach? That is the curve. Ever seen a boat disappear behind that horizon? That is the curve.

Ever watched a sunset on the ground then jumped up and watched the sunset again? That is the curve.

And when you say that you think you should see the curve what do you THINK you should be seeing, and then please provide the math and diagrams to support your belief.

As I mention in my article on buildings leaning, one of the major problems of the flat earth movement is erroneous expectations. You keep arguing that you 'think' you should see something, but don't give any reasons why you think you should!

I even outline the math on why we shouldn't be seeing the curvature in this article.

https://steemit.com/science/@kerriknox/if-the-earth-is-a-sphere-why-does-it-look-so-flat

It would be extremely educational and helpful for everyone, you and for people having a discussion with you, if you actually did the math, did the diagrams, and explained WHY you think you should see something you are not seeing. If you are not 'into math', then I'm not sure how you determined why you think you should be seeing anything in particular other than just a wild guess.

If I say that I 'think' I should be able to drive from Los Angeles to New Orleans in 5 hours, then declare a conspiracy when I'm unable to accomplish this, that would be nonsense. I simply had incorrect expectations. If I'd have done the math before creating an expectation, then I would have had an educated assessment of how long it would take. Without that, I'm just being ridiculous, not educated and intelligent, thinking it should only take 5 hours and that there was a conspiracy.

I've provided tons of visuals on these topics in my articles.

denver to prarie view.PNG

This is the horizon 100 miles from the mountains and 150 along them. This is from The Rockies through Denver to the prairie, and it looks just like this for many hundreds of miles north to south. I used to live there and saw a few hundred miles of it at least and it never changes. Are you saying:

  • you see a curve in this photo north/south or east /west?
  • there is no curve here?
  • saying the curve is in the photo but not discernible?
  • something else?

Even though it looks like the prairie is rising - it's really not. They measure it to sea level somehow and it barely changes until you get past Kansas.

How does the sea level measurement work in your idea? Do you have that already discussed in another post?

some guy was out in a boat showing his 360 degree view

Perspective. The issue is with perspective.

How do you figure that?

See my other reply.

Are you going with the size issue? Then how does that work with this photo? The person is still small but way up in the mountains so I'm not sure the size of the person would change the view.

denver to prarie view.PNG

The horizon isn't a flat line, it's a circle. That circle is the edge of a very, very small spherical cap. It should look flat, because even at 30,000 feet it is still just a small spherical cap relative to the scale of the planet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48