You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Puzzle: Decode the message - SBD Giveaway challenge

in #science7 years ago

Darn, I did spend a significant amount of time and can say the second hint wasn't so helpful. Ah well. Good luck other folks!

I've been attacking it from the point of view that there's a substitution cipher (rotating is a special case) and some other dastardly manipulation involving a box of some sort. No luck there.

I was guessing an expansion of the original text into a three letter code replacements followed by some structured shuffling.

I give up :) . Fun puzzle though.

Sort:  

Give it another try after the third hint, then!

I think I need to know more about the second and third steps to make any head way, but likely any information you give could give it away?

Third hint is coming soon ;-)

Ohhh! Okay I'll see. I thought 2.1 was the third hint and thought you were just taunting me haha! :P

I just realized I made a logical mistake in the hints. Shame on me! The first step that I was talking about is actually the last step of the encryption! Post edited.

OMG. Clever! And I was at some point going "hmm... 4 letters are like nucleotides". Nahhhh that's not it. Cool, I think I know, just now need the right tool...

EDIT: I participate in this challenge (sent by steemit.chat)

Interestingly enough, my strategy of splitting into triplets initially would have worked with one more tweak , but without the hint I likely would have been stuck trying to figure out how to make the missing letters of the code we are supposed to re-encode with this method.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62447.99
ETH 2513.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67