You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Real Cost Of Electric Cars

in #science7 years ago

I'm still pretty miffed that bio-diesel didn't take off like I thought it would. Diesel technology basically stalled, and I think we have the capabilities to bring it on par with any other fuel source in terms of being low cost, readily available, and more environmentally friendly than batteries, gasoline or nuclear.

I think if we someone invested some real money into modernizing diesel engines, we could really squeeze out a lot more MPG, or a lot more electricity out of diesel.

The problem is I don't think the US standards and regulations are really set up around making diesel a modern day fuel source.

Great article highlighting the dangers of blindly following "green" tech.

Sort:  

Thanks! I was working on a design for a magneto driven car. It would use a standard car battery to get it spinning, but magnetism (like they use in the Japanese trains) can push a lot of juice. The car would have to be geared properly (not insurmountable) and made of composites to keep the weight down. I figure that conservatively, you could get 150 mph out of one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81