SpaceX Rocket Launch from Vandenberg

in #science7 years ago

Two days ago, on June 25th, 2017, at about 1:25 pm Pacific Time, SpaceX launched a Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base on the Central California coast. I live fairly close to Vandenberg, so I had the immense privilege of watching the launch live!

Here's a photo of the launch; you can see the vapor trail, but you have to zoom waaay in to see the flame from the rocket:


IMG_20170625_132651229.jpg

Zoomed:


zoomed.png

So cool to get to watch that. I had my binoculars with me, and I even got to see the 1st stage separate and its little jets fire to reorient for reentry. I was hoping to get to see its reentry burn, but it was pretty far away by then and I lost it in the binoculars shortly after the reorientation firing.

I was a total space nerd as a kid, rarely thinking about anything other than spaceflight. So now getting to watch these things in person is a genuine treat.

Sort:  

What a privilege to live near a launch site! I was totally obsessed with space exploration as a kid as well. Still have an Arianna 5 scale model somewhere. Even wanted to be an astronaut, until the Columbia crashed...

I'm putting this on my 'space' bucket list, together with the total solar eclipse in Spain in 2026.

Yeah! I'm heading to Oregon for the total solar eclipse in August this year, and I'm totally stoked!

Have you seen Smarter Everyday's Video on how to watch the Solar Eclipse? He interviews a plastic surgeon who is an Eclipse hunter and explains to which things you should pay attention. Like shadow bands and Baily's beads.
I'll have to wait a few years until there's one in Europe, but I'm so excited :)

Nice! I'll give it a look, thanks for the link!

No problem. The surgeon even made an app. It tells you precisely where you have to be to get a total solar eclipse. Apparently it's a pretty narrow region, so that's definitely handy. But what's really great is that the app gives you the exact times for these special events like Baily's beads and such. I believe it costs a few dollars but it's a few dollars well spend ;)

And if you manage to film Shadow Bands, please send it to me, I'd love to see it.

Awesome, was this the launch where they did two back to back?

Not from Vandenberg, they only had one launch here. I think maybe they launched one from CA and one from FL in quick succession?

Thats awesome, thanks for sharing for those of us that didnt get to see it. I'm looking forward to see what yhe future holds for Space X

I think all males gets into a spacecraft (and dinosaurs) fascination stage. My 6-year old is and he'll be stoked for a chance to see a live take-off!

I understand it's in the works now that they are looking at space travels, for an extorbitant fee, offered to common hoo-mans like us (given you meet the physical/mental health criteria).

Would you go for this?

Oh yeah, you bet. If I had the money, I'd definitely give it a shot.

I had my dinosaur phase as well - sounds like I'd get along with your kid just fine. :)

That would be awesome, wouldn't it? To have the chance to appreciate the vastness of the universe.

Oh, as soon as I saw the rocket (as he'd call it) post, I'm ALMOST positive you'll get along. Add to that DINOSAURS!

Last question though before I can say for sure, how do you feel about Gummy Bears?

Heh, we have a perfect match! Gummy bears are a delight.

Awesome!!!

You have this mom's approval to be my son's new best friend. (As if there was an application) lol

it one my dreams to see live space ship launching
thank you for making my day ;)
followed and upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14