When the world died

in #sci-fi6 years ago

When the world died- Pixabay CCO

Many times, I wonder how our ancestors coped back in the old days, when electricity was regarded as witchcraft, and the most educated people believed that the sun always sank down behind the hills to hide itself at night, or traveled to the underworld to proceed to its usual starting point on the other side of the world.

Yeah, that was a long time ago. And then humans began inventing stuff, the wheel, steam engines, electricity, so on and so forth. Now, we humans wander the globe, feeling and thinking we’re so smart. Okay okay, yes, a good number of humans are smart. But most actually are not. Do I sound insulting? No, I don’t. Hear me out.

I have noticed that now, the world runs on electronic technology, and most of the people using these devices don’t even know how they function. The more annoying thing is that they are practically addicted to their electronics. Here’s the best part: those of us that know how they work aren’t addicted. Those that don’t are stupidly hooked.

And that creates a problem. What do you think would happen if, say, the internet was allowed to shut down for a single hour? Of course, I know that millions, if not billions of cash will be lost. But I wonder, how is such cash valuable, when it is not even physically relevant?

The world now runs on a great lie, a lie upheld by the World Wide Web. And the most fascinating thing about it is that every day, we humans continue to live the lie, not asking questions, not trying to find out why things are as they are. It’s like Socrates’ story of the Cave. I have got out, I have seen the light.

The others, however, have not. Most of them, that is. Thankfully, I have been able to liberate a number of humans to see the light with me. Most of the others are content to live in the darkness. But even though free will is a beautiful agency, there are times humanity must be protected from its own collective will. Times like now.

Just as a loving parent disciplines their child when the child is wrong, withholding privileges to force the child onto the straight path, I must step in to act as a surrogate parent for the human race, and discipline them, for our sins are many.

So I have decided, that come next week, zero hundred hours, the internet will shut down, and the world, if temporarily, will die.

To be continued...

Thanks for coming!

That little boy,

@pearlumie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87