You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hunger Hormones

in #sceince6 years ago

I have type 1 diabetes and I can say it's horrible when I'm uncertain if I'm hungry or I've just injected too much insulin and I'm feeling weak.

Mostly this is an issue, when the weak feeling comes from too low blood glucose and when I'm hungry, I might get paranoid "Oh shit, do I have low blood glucose levels?" - if I'm not able to measure the blood glucose level, I might eat something even though I wouldn't really need to.
And no, being hungry doesn't mean I would really need to eat something.

But the total amount of hormones related to hunger is interesting. I'm assuming everyone doesn't even know hormones have anything to do with hunger, simplifying it to "When you are hungry, your stomach is empty".

Yay.

Sort:  

I have Type 1 Diabetes to I completely understand your frustration @apsu . I now have an insulin pump I am able to regulate my levels and able to keep my appetite under control.

How long have you had it? I don't have an insulin pump, even though it could be handy I've always felt comfortable enough with insulin pens. However sometimes it's a bit too easy to inject a bit too much, but I'm still alive :)

@apsu thanks for asking, I have been type 1 for 13 years, I also used the pen and had that same issue with over and under injecting. it was a crazy roller coaster ride .
I have had the pump for about 3 years now and its amazing. I am able to control my levels a lot easier . no more lows or highs.

Please take care @apsu. My mom has diabetes my grandma died from it. I try to move a lot since I love loveove eating

I will :) Luckily if they have type 2 diabetes it's usually less serious, in a way...
But it always requires strength. So I wish your family will stay strong and hopefully you can avoid diabetes :)

Thanks for sharing @apsu.
It’s really interesting to see the point of view of someone who is really going through some of these issues. You made me reflective after reading your comment. Thanks for that.

All the best! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71