You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Results of the writing competition about “Scammers”. My commentaries and impressions

in #scammers6 years ago

Oh wow thank you so much for teh recognition and the Steem prize! Another steem closer to my 500 steem goal and then to 1000!

I read the other entries and indeed it is scary that so many scams are taking place. It was enlightening to read them so you can avoid them.

One of the earliest scams that I could remember was the Nigerian prince scam from the internet. I think I touched on that in a previous post.

I don't think Nigeria has the most number but it has just been highlighted more and even made into memes that is why it is in our collective mind.

Sort:  

I don’t know the Nigerian Prince scam. You should share it with us all.

It was part of a post I created how a seemingly scam turned out to be so different from what was expected.

How many of us has received that email at one point of our lives from a Nigerian Prince asking for help to send some little amount of money so that he can then get his millions in a bank account currently frozen and once he has access you will be generously rewarded.

I've worked in the fraud department of a bank a long time ago and have received countless complains of people getting scammed and having their life savings cleaned out. One of the saddest part is these people are mostly the elderly who are living off their life savings and pension. I remember one call that this elderly woman was crying because all the money in her account was taken because she gave her account number and password so that as she was informed that it is needed so that the transfer can be done smoothly. Your heart just aches as the only thing you can say is you'll forward the request and will be investigated further. By the time it is reported the trail would have gone cold and the money transferred to a non disclosed account and the reversal of the transfer is almost impossible.

It grew to a point that it was so big that the banking community issued a memo and placed a number of countries in Africa in a blacklist because of the prevalence of the scam.

By D grace of God: a story of a scammer to a saint.

I love the photo and caption!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79