Exposing Scam: Speaking Out And Getting It Out Of The Community

in #scam7 years ago

road-sign-464653_960_720.jpg

I have heard of scams but I didn't realize it was this bad until I came across the recent one that just happened. I think I have seen enough to be able to speak up. Steemit has gone beyond just any platform. This is where people depend on and if some one can just come and think he can dwindle innocent people off their had earned $$$ then I think there is something wrong.

Scamming is the most awful thing to do. It is a wicked act and should be terminated especially from steemit. Scam if not well handled and cubed brings about distrust and bad name, this platform have gone beyond that and therefore no one should keep quiet about scam.

It only makes my heart bleed when people work and some one is scamming it out of them. This is an unfair thing to do. But then we all need to be careful with the way we go around things. It seems the new trend now is to impersonate some whales and scam the newbies on this platform.

Newbies watch it.

Some times I do not even know if I have grown past a newbie but I know that there are things that we do as humans generally that can land us into some deep mess. These days the price of bitcoin has affected other coins , people are not getting enough anymore but that should not subject you to the state of being desperate. Scammers capitalize on certain things which I will put down below to rip you off what you have.

Reasons why you might be a victim

Lack of patience

Some gets here and they want to start immediately to hit it big. Some do not even take the time to study what this platform is all about and the people in, try to engage or get to know people more. As a result out of impatience and zeal to make it before hand gets them into the hands of scammer who might sweet talk them into doing what they want and eventually you become a victim. Please newbies try to engage and know this platform better before going extra miles.

Desperation.

When you get too desperate for something, scammers capitalize on that. Never get too desperate that you go out of your way to get an upvote. Even when he promises the impossible. Scammers promise you the easiest way to success and rip you off. There is no easy way to success, success comes over time with consistency, dedication and loyalty.

Impersonation

Recently some members from the Nigerian community have bitterly complained abut being scam by some one who claims to be @curie. Ripping off a $20SBD all in the name of upvoting his work. This is really not fair to people and obviously nit healthy for this platform.

Another is the one with @val-a. A scammer has also went on as to using his name in scamming the newbies and I appreciate @val-a for coming out and clearing his name to this dirty behavior.
IMG-20170921-WA0005.jpg

Speak out

It is left for us to protect ourselves from these wolves. This is unhealthy to this platform and so I implore that anyone who discovers anything fishy should speak out please. The earlier we start exposing scammers the better for us and this platform.

Conclusion

We are here to protect each other therefore, if there is anyone who has been in the same situation should please speak out so that scam can be eradicated from this platform. Newbies be on the watch out and never give in to scam. Together we can kick against scam.

Be at alert... stay safe!

Image source 1: PIXABAY
generic.gif

Sort:  

I am relatively new to steemit and I see people that sell upvotes. I don't think it is sensible to buy them at this time. I also see that steemit allows you to promote your blog. @cleverbot the scammer will always try to convince you that you will do better with them and then not deliver.🤔

Never said that.. Actually I told you I was about to watch a movie.

Good Post! Thanks for the share and information. Cheers!

Thank you very much sir.

It's just bad, I've seen so many posts on these impersonators especially the @curie one.
We should look well before jumping into such, 20SBD for an upvote already looks suspicious. I just pray none of us will fall into their trap.

Lols...😂
Impersonating @curie for $20...😂
Sorry to those who fell for it
Its a lesson

the only shortcut to success is the right part

I believe this happens to newbie because they are ignorant of how steemit works. For those who really understand steemit.com will first check there rep and sp before even replying the scammer. Who has high rep with not even dare to scam anyone. Thanks @gloglo for this vital information

You are very right. I just hope no one falls prey again.

Hi, @gloglo I've heard a lot in the past week about it, a scammer who is trying to sell upvote from whale account with alway a little misspell name, like sweetsj for sweetsssj or Gaveet instead of Gavvet and many have fall into this scam. The scammers also try to buy some accounts or offer some resteem on a big account. There is a solution to that if you are aware of one scam account just send it to @pfunk he will take care of it. Thanks

I guess I will have to take up this and report to @pfunk anytime I notice sonething like this from scammers again. Thank you for bringing me to this notice.

Scam is so detestful like hell. Scammers dont realise that they can send the person they scammed to early grave. I hope this community is cleaned of such.

We hope so. Scammers are evil and needs to be exposed.

Yes impatience is the reason for falling into the hands of scammers. As a newbie, One @val.a asked if I want him to help raise my rep to 70. Well I ignored him. Ponzi mentality here wont work. Thanks for bringing this to the fore.

Please do not pay attntion to such. They are just here to spoil people's reputation. Thanks for sharing.

Very well said !!!!!

Thank you ao much.

Yea, right. I also believe it starts with the "I" before"You" or before "Them".

Being cautious and positively patient are good virtues. Fantastic article!

Thanks for sharing and helping the community.

Am glad you see that as the virtuos thing to do. We can kick against if we take of this scam exposure to another level. Thanks dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09