My Ongoing Obsession - Day 193 - Daily Haiku, touching on my deep and abiding love for whales and marine life

in #savethewhales6 years ago (edited)

Mission Bay from tower at Sea World, Summer 1975.jpg
Mission Bay, San Diego, as seen from the tower at Sea World, summer 1975

Porpoises, dolphins
and whales were my obsession.
I miss them badly.

And a second, even more personal poem, recalling my childhood:

Visiting friends at the shore
sun sinking low in the west
I saw black shapes out to sea
asking them, what could they be?
watching the grey whales go by
California's sentinel
Eschrictius robustus

(One of my 7/7 poems; seven lines of seven syllables each).

My favorite scientific name for the grey whale, long obsolete, is Rhachianectes glaucus, also seven syllables, which translates literally to "grey swimmer along rocky shores." A lovely and poetic description.

Among the things that defined me most distinctly as a person was my decision, when entering college, to study marine biology, specifically whales, dolphins and porpoises.

And thus began one of the most rewarding, frustrating, and ultimately depressing, periods of my life.

Because for one who has loved whales all of my life, to study them closely is to realize the reality of our critical front line environmental issues; namely that we humans are, as a species, monumentally irresponsible in how we treat our home planet and other sentient beings, as we insistently fail to learn even the most blatantly obvious lessons as they present themselves. Frustrating indeed.

Which brings to mind a headline that I saw at work a few days ago, regarding an article in The Atlantic, regarding what the grieving of orcas teaches us.

As Americans, most of us view orcas as killer whales, as apex predators, preying mercilessly upon other marine mammals. But such is not always the case.

In fact, in the Canadian Arctic, three coastal dwelling orca pods in the Pacific Northwest are not the hunters of mammals at all, but instead prey almost exclusively upon salmon, mainly Chinook salmon.

As native Pacific salmon are becoming increasingly scarce, primarily due to overfishing, and to ecological degradation caused by humans, the southern resident orcas are suffering and have themselves become endangered.

When I first became familiar with them in the mid-1970s, there were several hundred members between the three pods.

Today, or at least at the time of writing of the above article, there are a mere seventy five members remaining, and they are not doing well.

As author Ed Yong recounts, "The group’s numbers are at a 30-year low, and old members are dying faster than new ones are being born. The community’s females should produce four to five calves a year, but no new calves have survived since 2015. Miscarriages are common. Around 75 percent of newborns die."

Recently, a twenty-year-old female named Tahlequah (J35) gave birth to a female calf that died within half an hour. In a profound display of grief, that captured the attention of the world, she carried her calf for seventeen days before finally relinquishing her body to the sea.

Researchers intimately connected to the whales grew increasingly concerned for her, fearing that carrying her baby was preventing her from feeding, and causing her to lag behind the rest of the pod, though at times other members of the pod were seen taking turns carrying the baby, and the southern residents are known to prey share.

Her display of grief ended on Friday, 13 August, the longest such display ever observed in orcas.

“'I have never seen that kind of grief,' said Ken Balcomb, of the Center for Whale Research. 'It’s a little bit of anthropomorphism, but I think she was letting everyone else know she was grieving,' he says. 'They’re very intelligent. They know people are out there: I’ve seen them look at boats hauling fish out in nets. I think they know that humans are somehow related to the scarcity of food. And I think they know that the scarcity of food is causing them physical distress, and also causing them to lose babies.'”

Orcas, dolphins and other whales have been spotted carrying their dead calves many times in the past, but typically only for a day or two. "Tahlequah’s recent loss was unusual only in its duration and visibility. 'Every time they leave in the winter and come back with fewer members, we know that they’ve gone through grief,' says Deborah Giles, the science-and-research director of the nonprofit Wild Orca. 'We just don’t see it.'"

And it is not only the southern resident orcas that are starving; great whales are starving in the open oceans, as humans continue to plunder dwindling stocks of fish with increasingly effective - and devastating - results.

As so eloquently put by Steven Wilson:

"One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
One of the blunders of the world is no one cares
No one cares enough"

I will continue this post tomorrow.


The Sound of Muzak, by Porcupine Tree, with lyrics

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity You Are Hope.

All SBDs earned from my posts will be even split between the two organizations.

#tarc #ecotrain #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #knot #bethechange #chooselove #naturephotography #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #astronomy #poetsunited #time #spacetime #kenbalcomb #southernresidentorcas #orcas #killerwhales #whales #dolphins #pacificnorthwest #music #porcupinetree #stevenwilson #soundofmuzak

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Too true: we humans are, as a species, monumentally irresponsible in how we treat our home planet and other sentient beings, as we insistently fail to learn even the most blatantly obvious lessons as they present themselves. Frustrating indeed.
btw, I love your attention to charities, Cori!
And I wonder about that www. poetsunited.org icon: for only 55 cents (SBD) a month, I'd get 2 upvotes and 3 resteems... should I....
In the end, the decision I always make is deciding to do nothing. Simplifies life, but doesn't enrich it.

Oh dear. This looks daunting.
Poets United : Upvote Bot Update and New Delegation Lease Request (Please Fill It In to help Poets on Steemit) — Steemit https://steemit.com/steemit/@poetsunited/poets-united-upvote-bot-update-and-new-delegation-lease-request-please-fill-it-in-to-help-poets-on-steemit

I went with the undaunting version of simply paying for the year, rather than having to worry about it the first of every month. At the time it was 5 STEEM for the year, not certain if that has gone up or not, but to me it is money well spent to support the group.

As for the upvotes and resteems, you get two upvotes daily, and three resteems per month, but half the time I forget to even post my links in the proper channel.

And, frankly, since I was accepted into the @tribesteemup voting trail, it seems a tad niggardly to ask for regular upvotes of my own posts, since so many truly great posts are still failing to break a dollar at payout, though I do intend to be more diligent about posting the links of others to spread the love.

As for charities, blame my mom. ;-)

She got my sisters and me donating to and volunteering for good causes from an early age, led by example, and the causes I've chosen have had a large hand in making me who I am today.

My take on charity is that I always get out of it far more than I give, regardless of whether anyone else can see that or not. And it's irrelevant either way. I love doing my part to make the world a better place, in what small ways I can make a difference. It just feels good.

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12