Saved Reddit Posts Series - Introduction and Details

in #savedposts7 years ago

Hey everyone!

Wanna start off with some history of my previous social media experience and how it has affected my Steemit experience and what I have been focusing on to increase user interactivity.


As some of you might know I used to be a very active Redditor back in the day. I remember the first time I stumbled upon it over 8 years ago and how it back then already looked a lot better and more entertaining than facebook and digg. After lurking for a long time I decided to finally create an account and start posting. Many back in the day were really into posting content on Reddit and receiving link karma for it, I wasn't much of a content creator myself and re-posting others content just to gain karma points didn't feel like my thing. What I did love about it though was the comment section, it wouldn't matter if a post was a re-post, if the content wasn't of great quality - the comment section never let you down. With the increase in users the general quality in comments grew and grew and that's what I focused on myself as well.

I recently had my 6 year Reddit cake-day which coincidentally was on the same day as Steemits birthday and my 10 months being a member here, I also managed to break 100k comment karma!

Now coming from Reddit and all the social medias that it made obsolete I think its needless to say why I got so addicted to Steemit and compared to all other communities out there that allow for anonymity (youtube, digg, pinterest, instagram) I have found that the community here is so much nicer in general and have made so many more contacts and connections with users than on all others combined.


I was in favor of the comment reward pool because I believed the quality of comments and the effort put into them would grow with it and the interactivity of users on authors posts as well - but since that didn't happen I have started using my trail to vote on comments a lot more actively instead, and I am certain that it will improve the interactivity of users on posts and discussions a lot more over time and hope many other curators will follow my steps and reward comments accordingly. (the last statistics I read about it before the hardfork were that comments were receiving a measly 2% max compared to the posting and curation rewards, I can't wait to raise that number over time.)

Checking on steemviz.com for pending comment payouts in 1 week I feel many users share and have shared the same experience that I do:

For those who are in a similar position like me where you enjoy commenting and interacting with others a lot more than creating content or posting and building your brand through that, it must feel a bit unrewarding in comparison to the rest of posting rewards.

Here is an snip from Steemitboards, I check this site since it differentiates between posts and comments. These are my statistics after 10 months on Steemit.

I am sure there are many others out there who use Steemit more of a Social Media aspect, and I hope many will start posting more freely and use it the same way as they would use their facebooks, youtubes, etc.

Although I know this may only be a tiny issue right now because of our small user-base but I think rewarding users for comments and interactivity goes a long way to build a solid platform!

With that being said I wanna talk about this Series that I want to start sharing with you.
During these 6 years of active Redditing I have come across a lot of posts and bookmarked and saved many awesome ones that I consider my favorites, this includes videos, images, gifs, etc but most importantly I also want to share my favorite comments from those posts and how in many cases its them that 'make' the posts great.

I hope you will find it as entertaining as I do/did and I will be sourcing back to each and every thread so that you can read more about it if its a post that interests you. I'm going to use images for the comments to be able to credit other users who like me love to comment and interact. :)

Sort:  

It's disappointing that the comments reward pool was rejected. Things are a little better with the no-whale-votes experiment, but not enough yet.

I agree! That's why I think people should start voting away with smaller % votes on comments more, the more users that do this the better. Even if its just as an acknowledgement that you have read the comment post, I'm sure no one will be sad why you only voted with 5% than being grateful of receiving a vote and being rewarded. The more voters with small stake the bigger the reward gets.

Also on a personal level I never vote my own comments up cause I think the feeling of receiving votes from someone else who's read it is a lot greater than wasting your limited voting power on voting up your own comments - let alone the posts you could vote on instead with that voting power.

I've noticed you also vote a lot on comments, btw. That's really awesome! :)

On reddit the best joke / story was always in the comments. Hope we can get to that sense of community here on steemit as well.

Yeah I am certain it will come sooner or later with a bigger user-base and communities. :)

I do love some good commenting, steemit has been getting better so here's hoping it continues to improve!

Never heard about Steemitboards until. I will check it out. I was always curios about how many comment I have left.
Congratulations on your 6 years!

Thanks for sharing. Commenting is surely a fun way to interact with many things online and being able to get rewarded makes it more, well, rewarding.

Yeah... Reddit is banned in my country ! I agree with you, steemit is interacting social media and.... by the way comment is make author feel encouraged because there both side communication between readers and author. I agree with you about fixing comment reward. Nice ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07