Promoting Steemit Using YouTube: My First Son-of-Satire Video

in #satire7 years ago

You might have noticed that I disappeared for a while there. This project of mine took a lot longer to complete than I had initially anticipated. It seems I greatly underestimated the amount of work involved in creating a cartoon on your own. I was forced to downgrade my initial complex, colour character designs to more basic simple line drawings in order to make the animation easier. I also had to cut out a lot of the dialogue or I would have been spending months on this thing.

Below is the final product. In spite of the problems I had, I am quite happy with the end result considering this is my first cartoon and I am still learning. I expect that as time goes on and I produce more videos, both the quality of the content, and the speed at which I can create it will increase-- much like in the case of my writing on Steemit. The plan is to have the skills to produce high quality cartoons by the time I have established a bit of a following on YouTube, and then use the channel to send YouTubers to Steemit. I have spoken with another Steemit artist who has expressed interest in perhaps assisting with some of the drawing, which would dramatically speed up the process, so I'm feeling rather optimistic about the channel and the good it could do for Steemit in the long run. Anyway, here it is..



Any shares of this video to raise awareness of the channel are greatly appreciated. Also, if you have any excellent Steemit related videos that you would like me to post on the channel, share them in the comments.

Thanks for watching!









If this made you laugh, resteem it so that your followers can laugh too.

Sort:  

Hey there ... fun loving talented one. Great work on the video and love your gif. How did you do the talking head animations. Very clever.
giphy.gif

Loading...

Thanks a lot. I was perhaps lazy in only animating the heads, but to do the body's too would have taken so much more art and time. I spent an entire week on this as it is, with pretty much all of each day spent working on it...

When I figure out an easier or faster way to produce the same results, I will step it up and start animating bodies too. Although, I kind of the like the bobble heads style of things... It looks.. different.

I understand. Animation takes a lot of time > even a talking head. Did you use flash to animate? I can't wait to see more. I know every post will get better and better. I will visit your youtube and give you a thumbs up and subscribe. I wish I was a whale and could give you more money for all your work.
MakeItRain.gif

Your appreciation and kind words are worth more than money, so I thank you for that. I used After Effects for the animation part on this video. I'm going to look into easier ways to do it before the next video though, because I designed a couple of full colour characters that I really hope to make use of eventually.

Very cool and can't wait to see how this all grows. It inspires me to do more but I'm always a bit shy starting out. I'm interested in starting a steemitstock where people can use/modify for their projects. Did anyone ever start something like that?

Go on @pitterpatter am your fan!!

I don't know if there is an exclusive tag for something like that, but I know that people have shared stock images and videos for the community to use-- myself included. It does sound like an excellent idea though, and I encourage you to do it.

Loading...

I love the clean graphic style of the characters!

Thanks. I drew up the images in super-hi-res so that they withstand any loss in quality during the render process. My computer did struggle to handle all of the renders though, every time I was sure it was going to blow up. Lol

It looks superb - so it obviously worked!

Thanks a lot, and also, I just noticed that you resteemed the post, so thanks for that too.

lol

sweet!

Love this!

More!

That was funny!
So.... I guess I don't need my tin foil helmet then...?

Well that depends... Are you afraid of uncomfortable truths?

Wow a lot of work to make such an animation...

Indeed. I'm hoping to find simpler ways of doing it in future though.

You can use some software that will speed up the process or make it in some programs

Well that's how I did this one. But, as I was teaching myself to do it during the process, I imagine that delayed things quite a bit. The more I do it, the quicker I will be able to do it. In truth, I don't mind working on the videos for an entire week, so regardless of my improvements, I will still spend a week on each one. But, I hope that within that week I can slowly begin to improve the quality and complexity of the animation until it looks somewhat professional.

The good thing is that I can reuse any characters I design, so that should help a lot in the long run too.

I know, the hardest part is to learn the process but after you learn, it will be like a child play, I wish you Good Luck in your work ...

Words of truth. And at least I'm enjoying myself in the mean time.

Thanks a lot .

Sugoooi ! Nice ! :)

Oh, I never did say what I thought other than complimenting the way you perfectly imitated the inflection of newscasters.
I also loved reading the running stream of news on the bottom.
Well fucking done, as usual my multi-talented friend.
Resteeming, as usual, because I am just awesome like that ;)

That was a last minute addition actually. Also a good way to advertise what is next to come on the channel. Thanks a lot for the comment, and the resteem.

Very cool. I subbed to you there and followed you here :)

Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29