'On Wheel of Fortune' - a Satire in Verse

in #satire6 years ago

Wheel

Divider

Wring a ling
        ding ding
a single octave jingle tracks
        the swathe of camera one attacking
centre stage in aid
        of echoless clapping
and the captain our captain
  peeps out his mouse hole,
    with smooth reiteration
      from his mouth h***
about the weather
down in Iowa where three of five
delighted guests
all hail from incidentally, and
                             isn’t that the most relaxing way
of revving up this
              neon maelstrom into
a calamitous bargain bucket charging
only flakes of epidermal anonymity per spin.

Rigging beams down
             saturated light
elucidating bright chromatic blur
                           between encircled flesh
and royal purple set design,
as an ovulating data analyst sounds off
the first kalashnikov clatter
into triple digit territory
then a second contestant
                                                      etcetera
until
      every
               tallied
                         circle validates
a finalist whose prophesied arrival
activates the crux of their observers’
              hateful dissonance.

                           The jingle lowers pitch and adds a seventh
   indicating network currency at stake
                then during the commercial break
        deserted lecterns
               fall beneath
    a metamorphic outburst
                                        of this consequential gameplay;
colour palettes fixate on their quintessential tone
to splash against
the walls of living rooms
in which the final klaxon signalling defeat
commands relief
and empty handed
homebound non-anomalies
face warm obliteration
from the next half hour segment.

Divider
@lazarus-wist
Divider2
Another oldie today; this one, I seem to recall,
written after watching one too many game shows
while in bed with a fever...
Divider 3
Image

Sort:  

Pat and Vanna would be proud. Maybe ( : Enjoyed the view of the frustrated lot. Though my kind of game, if ever asked, as Jeopardy would make me look even worse, if ever on the tube attempting it. Not an on-foot thinker under pressure in the least. Very nice work. Or play. Even with a bad fever.

Thanks! I know I'd crumple under the pressure in a TV situation, even if I seem to do alright at home :)

The true, armchair athlete.

I suggest you to check works of Polish poet Stanisław Czycz. You might be inspired by him, given structure of your poem.

Hi @bacus15, thank you for your suggestion. I've found some images on his website (tribute site?) which look very interesting, although I can't seem to find any English translations. Do you know of any floating around the internet by any chance? If not, I'll just keep searching :) Thanks for stopping by!

Tribute site. Czycz died in 1996. No, i dont know any, though i ll try to look for them. Nice to see, you have found it interesting :) .

fevers are like a high for me when it comes to writing. I write the weirdest things while ill and sometimes when my thoughts are clearer, i go like wow! i wrote this?

interesting poem @lazarus-wist

Cheers mate :) I always keep a record of my dreams when I'm in that fever state - they make for some pretty wacky writing prompts when I'm in a more level headed frame of mind. Good to know I'm not the only one, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73