‘twas the night before marathon, and all through the house….

in #running6 years ago

A runner could be heard to worry and grouse,

It’s the big day tomorrow and my legs are in pain,
I’ve gone and trained too hard on the road again,

The DOMS have hit me square in the butt,
In the calves, in the quads in the chest, what a nut,

I’m hobbling around like an old man of sorrow,
There’s no way I’ll be running fast this time tomorrow,

So I’ll have to settle for a more sedate pace,
And pin a hopeful, pain-filled smile on my face,

Then run as fast as is possible on legs that won’t bend,
All the way from the start to the rain-soaked end,

For you see that’s the truth of the weather forecast,
You’re gonna get wet (if you don’t run quite fast),

So in the wee early hours of your Sunday morn,
Spare a small thought for the muscles I’ve torn,

As I pound through the rain in a desperate bid,
To beat last year’s time and be glad that I did,

I’ll take your warm thoughts and hold on to them tight,
And use their bright power to help win the fight,

I’ll smile at the crowds cheering the runners along,
Shouting “Run on little old man, run on!”


image source


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Do you like games?

Check out my Steemit Ultra Marathon game where you can win 20SBD for first place, 10SBD for second and 5SBD for third. Get your virtual running shoes on and get ready to run!


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Hey man awesome, when i will have more time, i will check out your game more, might be a good idea for me

well said,
will we be watching the Little Old Man run on your tot?
I know Mum will be interested.

I'll hit the button just before the start and hopefully it will work this time.

it worked well, we could see towards the end you were doing a lot of walking.
do the same in a couple of weeks, so we can watch you in action

WARNING! The comment below by @shovon51 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Good luck for it to go better than you're expecting! Though you've probably gone to bed by now, and won't even see this...

Thanks. We'll just have to see how the day plays out. And running in the rain won't kill me. It will just make me soggy :-)

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Very Nice. Look here and I will provide you more votes http://mcg6000.com/booster

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89