Running with a podcast

in #running5 years ago

I was getting a bit bored listening to the same music over and over while running my 10km breakfast circuit. So I thought I’d give listening to a podcast a go.

I’m not usually a big podcast fan, but I felt like I needed something different. So I did a bit of searching an somehow found myself on a site called – No such thing as a fish.

This is a podcast done by the researchers for the BBC TV show QI. They each talk about their most interesting fact uncovered in their research for the show this week.

I quite like QI, it’s quite interesting, and entertaining. So I downloaded the file and added it to my mp3 player in preparation for this morning’s run. Given that winter has just popped back in to make sure we remember to water the garden, I thought it best to run inside at the gym. So I did.

I jumped on the treadmill, cranked the speed up to something quite a bit faster than normal, and hit play. Why was I running faster than normal you ask?

Well yesterday on my way home from doing hill repeats my chest felt a bit tight, sort of heart attack-ish. While there wasn’t anything you might call pain, it was still a bit odd, and the feeling of tension stayed with me all day.

So I figured I needed to see what was going on with it before calling the doctor, so I thought I’d do a bit of a stress test in the gym and see if things were really about to break down, or if it was just my body being weird again.

My usual comfortable pace is 10km/h, so I started out at 12km/h to see what would happen. I work my heart rate strap and kept an eye on my heart rete to see if it looked out of kilter. Everything seemed fine. my heart rate slowly climbed towards the end of the run, as you might expect, with no untoward feelings of tightness or pressure.

This was probably helped by the distraction of learning all about why monkeys don’t actually eat bananas in the wild, why the British Embassy in the U.S beefed up its security after the Beatles visit, and all about a toilet burning down in the Great Fire of London.

It was a quite interesting podcast, which had me smiling frequently as the miles disappeared under my feet (and around the rollers and back out again). There was a wonderful geekiness to their banter and it was fun to listen to.

Given that my heart didn’t throw a fit in the middle of the stress test, I guess that means I’ll be back out running again tomorrow. But before I go, I’ll make sure to download another episode to listen to as I jog along.

If you’re looking for a fun podcast to listen to I can recommend this one. Check out the episodes here - https://audioboom.com/channel/nosuchthingasafish


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

It is always good to have something new for ur training, so u will have a more refreshing run

Posted using Partiko Android

No matter how high your peak is: what matters is to commit yourself to reach it?
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Well yesterday on my way home from doing hill repeats my chest felt a bit tight, sort of heart attack-ish.

Careful with that. I've had a few interesting things like that happen in my life, but nothing too serious I guess.

Yeah. And the keep telling me I'm not getting any younger...

You need to make sure you look after that ticker so you are around to look after the little peppers and Mama Pepper. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34