Shoe shopping

in #running6 years ago

As my reward for completing my two-month introduction to running, I went out for some proper shoes today.

I'd had some recommendations and looked around in mainstream stores, but the suggestion from @steevc and @shanibeer was to go to a runners shop and get a gait analysis, so I did that.

I got great help and support from Danny and his colleague at Fitstuff in Guildford. It's a small shop and of course this week there are lots of kids going back to school so everywhere's busy, but they helped me try on five pairs in total, refining the choice as we went and above you can see my first go on the treadmill in a neutral shoe with the associated "collapse" (a bit dramatic I thought, I'd just call it bendy ankle) especially in the left foot which led me towards something with more instep support and cushioning.

I ended up with a very comfy pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire (!) which I shall try out on the riverbank for the first time tomorrow morning!

Sort:  

Oh, that's very exciting! Hope they work well for you.

just took them out in the rain, very comfy!

good to hear, makes such a difference.

Wow nice. Sometimes the shoes matter when it comes to running and other athletic acts. I hope you find comfort in this pair @lloyddavis

Nothing like a new pair of sneakers or "trainers" as you lot say...

May your socks ward off evil blisters and may your soles wear ever-slower my friend !

these are "running shoes" and when I say that I hold myself up straight, keep my shoulders down, arms at 90 degrees, breathing easily in through the nose and out through the mouth... until I collapse in a heap

I had a phys-ed teacher tell me once, that if they're made for running they're certainly fine for walking too ;) get after it- but be kind foto yourself @lloyddavis !

Definitely worth doing in my opinion @lloyddavis. If i ever take up running I'll be doing that. But I will probably wait a bit like you did. Just to make sure I'm going to keep going.

But for now it's all a fantasy as I have no desire to take up running whatsoever! 😂

keep the dream alive! I can tell you it wasn't an easy thing today with the rain coming down and the temperatures plummeting to push myself out the front door.

it wasn't an easy thing today with the rain coming down and the temperatures plummeting to push myself out the front door.

Sounds like you've turned yourself into a proper exerciser @lloyddavis. 😁

i love to buy shoes.
from difeenetr colors.
well done @lloyddavis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05