Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - 17 Bulls Eyes in One!

in #rockhound6 years ago (edited)

It's been too long for this #rockhound! I hadn't gone rockhounding in a while now. With work and more work, there just hasn't been any time for it.. I've been extra tired since my day job requires quite a bit of labor. This means that my workouts haven't really stopped, I just haven't been counting reps. Working every day has been a drag and I have to miss out on those early morning #rockhound adventures while everyone else works. Early hounds get the rock! Having to wait til Saturday to get my fix is a bit of a bummer, but there's still plenty of agates for me to find.

Today I needed to get my rockhounding fix, so I did! The problem is that as I went to leave the house, I got a work run. Figured I'd pack the family in the car anyways and head out, but this distraction caused me to leave my camera. Working every day has been a drag.


Lights Off

I would consider this the Agate of the day! Unfortunately, I didn't find it -- my wife did! I guess I've trained her well! It was found at the mouth of the Amnicon River in Superior, WI. I wasn't in the mood to get wet so she was bringing me buckets (isn't she sweet?). She brings me a bucket, walks over to the shore to wipe her hands and picks up a handful of rocks in the process, and this gem was in her hands. I was a bit jealous that she found it and not me! Still happy to have it though!

DSC_0587scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0599scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

There's lots of "bullseyes" in this one but you can't see them all when it glows! I could only get 7 of them while the rock glowed.

Bullseyes 1, 2 and 3 DSC_0609crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
Bullseyes 4 and 5 DSC_0609crop3.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0607crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0609crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
Bullseye 6 DSC_0616crop.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
Bullseye 7 DSC_0623crop.JPG

No Shine

Hard to see a whole lot of detail without any shine but there's still more character to this little agate than most others! We always go out hoping to find a really big agates, but when we find small ones like this, it's well worth it!

DSC_0624crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0630crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0632crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0634crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0636crop.JPG

Shine

Once I put some oil on this thing, it looked just as awesome if not better than when I first looked at it when it was wet from the water. I first counted 7 bullseyes but after a closer look I found a total of 17! There was a bunch that I didn't even catch until I saw the shine pictures and had to edit the post a little!

Can you count all the bullseyes in the first two pictures? I got 9 on the first picture and 5 on the second, and of course there's still 3 others that aren't visible in the first two shots! That's a lot of eyes!

DSC_0638crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0643crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0648crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0659crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0661crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0653crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0651crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0662crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0664crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0666crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0668crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0675crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0681crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0694crop.JPG

How Big is it?

8.1 Grams

DSC_0705scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 126 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

It's been so long that I had to dig for all my supplies, some batteries were mostly drained so I had to go buy more. I definitely miss creating my agate posts! I figured I'd be used to my job by now and I mostly am, but now I've gotten used to sleeping on my free time because work really drains me. I think this is one of the nicest agates I've seen this year and I don't think I've ever seen so many bullseyes in one!

On my way to go get batteries, I had to stop short and quickly put the car in reverse as I approached the stop sign because the moon was red. I wasn't about to pass it up, knowing my agate would also glow red for this post!

This is what I was looking at, however; I wanted to give it more light so you can see the buildings but it wouldn't do it justice for the color! Had to get the color right!
DSC_0577scaled.JPG

A big red moon! I do believe this is a lunar eclipse. This happens when the Moon is full and passes into Earth's shadow, and since I am so far north, it actually happens quite frequently. It's been doing this every night, but early in the night (just after the sun sets). By now, it's high in the sky and back to its original color.

DSC_0576crop.JPG

Steem On!

@bitfiend

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - The One Eyed Agate
Rockhounding at work this past week
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands All Around
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Macro Bands
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Bubble Agate

May

[Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks](https://steemit.com/rocks/@bitfiend/lake-superior-rocks-and-gems-may-rocks

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

So many eyes! You should name this one Argus. I like collecting crystal and metallic rocks. I've recently been reading about the healing energies they "give off". Crystals are oscillators so it makes sense! I've since gone back in my collection to find gems with the attributes I'm looking for. I found a blue one, very beautiful, that I've had for so long that I can't remember where it came from. I also don't know what it is. I tried to ask steemit but got no answer probably because I didn't use effective tags. You seem knowledgeable; can you help me?

Argus is a good name for it! One of them even looks like the Eye of Sauron from Harry Potter.

I read about their healing properties a couple years ago, they have many different properties. I remember the bullseye agate can help keep you safe or keep evil away.

Bulls Eye Agate (also known as Orbicular Agate) has long been thought to ward off the evil-eye or curses. It helps the survival instinct, eliminating fear and helping to improve one's chances for survival in dangerous situations. It stimulates the quality of grace in physical movements and actions. Bulls Eye Agate balances the chakras and stimulates an awareness and fulfillment of well-being. It treats disorders of the reproductive system. Aids in the treatment of growths and stimulates regenerative properties.
src

Will check it out!

Forgive me for my ignorance but I initially thought the term rockhounding and the first image of rocks were silly. But dang I'm glad I stuck around to see through the end of the post. I used to do some rock collecting but it was a small collection and eventually lost to the flood. This post brings back some memories. I googled agates because of this post and glad I learned something today. Congrats on the upvote from curie!

I haven't always known about the rockhound term but a hound is a hunting dog that tracks its prey, so when I first heard the term it made sense since rockhounds are always looking at the ground following a trail of agates. I once took care of a bluenose pitbull named Blue and I let him outside in the yard for some fresh air. He started playing with a giant rock bigger than his head. I think of Blue chewing on a boulder with his gums nearly bleeding and tossing it around the yard like a ball.

Quite an interesting trivia there. We don't have dogs or hobbies like that from the country I live in. I built my collection from hiking for the minerals or seek out dealers back then. Would be nice to see more geological gemstone varieties to be excited about here. Thanks for the awesome post and trivia, and congrats on that curie vote :D

howdy there bitfiend! wow sir..I have never seen agates with bulls eyes on them and I thought we were looking at a rock that was at least as big as a fist at first!
I think the only agates I've seen were cut in half, is that what you do with most of them?

I mostly just collect them. I planned on getting into lapidary art this summer but I ended up getting swamped with work, but lapidary artists will buy agates to make jewelry or polish them up and resell.

I haven't had much time for polishing or tumbling my agates lately though. I'm glad that you thought it was bigger, it makes it that much better when you get a size comparison! Maybe I'll do a bigger one next ;)

Thanks for coming by!

thanks for the further information sir bitfiend! so you can just go out walking along the beach and always find agates?
and what is lapidary art?

Yeah pretty much. At least for me, since I'm on the shores of Lake Superior. Lapidary art is when you shape and polish stones and turn them into nice jewelry

oh howdy back sir bitfiend! oh ok I get it, now I know what that means, thank you sir!

Hi bitfiend,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much again! Always makes my day better when I wake up to this!

Never had been rockhounding in my life... but looks exciting. I Always do geocaching so I’m a anyway much in the nature :-) perhaps worth a try. By the was very good macros 👍😀

Do You found ever some rocks / stones which are worth something ? :-)

It is always exciting when I find a good agate. Even the small ones!

They all have value, although the smaller ones don't have much. They hold value to the person who wants it though. There is a marketplace on facebook where rockhounds sell their finds, and many lapidary artists are always seeking gems to shine.

Besides agates, I find a lot of quartz, some amethyst, jade and tons of granite and maybe even some marble, but it can be hard to identify some of the rocks that show up on our shores because they have so many colors and designs.

I've heard of an agate selling for as much as $8,000 and just the other day I saw one in the marketplace for $40. I've never tried to sell mine

Yes, cool, thanks for the detailed explanation. Then I wish you for the future, that you find an 8000 $ agate :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love all of the bullseyes in this one! I'm glad you got a chance to get out!!

It was definitely a great find! I dont think I've seen this many in one agate before. Im glad I got out too, I needed the fresh air!

Congratulations @bitfiend! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been read and you did great! You received a 10.0% upvote from us for your post with the geology tag since you are not yet a member of the geopolis community.
You are always welcome to join us and get more recognition for your posts. You can find more information about geopolis here or join our Discord server.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88