Road to SteemFest - Why I Will Visit Auschwitz - Part 2 - Steemians Help Piece History Together

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

In the first part of this story, I told you about an unexpected discovery that sent me Googling after the history of one Moshe (Mois) Brudo - the grandfather of @mrlightning, my life-partner.

(Image via Pixabay)

With the copy of the camp entry form that I received from the US Holocaust Museum in Washington, and an address in Greece, I knew it was time to get some help from friends worldwide. And what better place to find them than Steem?

Friends in Germany

I turned to @jedigeiss , my partner in crime and lead anchor of the Utopian Open Source Radio Show, asking him to translate the text on the form, and specifically point out the prisoner number. That number would be the definitive proof connecting the man in the form to the man @mrlightning knew and wore that number on his arm. Obviously uncomfortable and awkward, @jedigeiss helped. With his translation, I discovered some interesting facts, in addition to the prisoner number (115252). 

All of the information on the form matched - names, dates, places and physical description - except for one little detail: eye color. Mois had striking blue eyes - as do both his living children and a few of his grandchildren. The form had brown as the color of his eyes, most likely because the intake officer didn't bother to look and just assumed his eyes were brown and his nose was crooked - like all Jews - and wrote that.

Friends in Greece

Another direction in my search led me to Greece, so I turned to @trumpman looking for help in translating and contacting the archives in the Jewish museum of Salonika. With his help, I got in touch with the archivists at the Museum, who provided us (for a fee) with a genealogy of the Brudos.


(Notes: Names marked with blue are Holocaust survivors, while names marked with yellow are Holocaust victims, and names marked with pink are for people who died before the deportation, 1943)

This sad family tree shows only Mois survived, but according to his children, he continued to search for his sister, Vida, after escaping Auschwitz. He believed she survived because someone told her he had seen her. He's failed to find her, or any record of her demise. Odds are I will not find any either, but that did not stop me from trying.

Searching Back Home & More From Auschwitz

With the information I've gathered, I've reached out to the archives at Auschwitz, requesting all and any information they could add. Their reply revealed only little new information - the last record of the whereabouts of Mois in the camp.

 Thank your request for information about Mois Proudo. I would like to inform, that in the collection of  partially saved documentation of KL Auschwitz, I found following information about him: Proudo Mois born in 1919 in Salonika, to Josef and Dona nee Chanel; was deported to  KL Auschwitz on April 13, 1943 from Salonika. He was registered and received his camp number 115252. He was imprisoned in the Auschwitz sub-camp in Monowitz. Last entry in files: March 24, 1944 – KL Auschwitz III-Monowitz, infirmary for prisoners. There is no information about his further fate. Unfortunately, there is no information about Vidal Proudo and Victoria Proudo.

The hardest part, after having found all this information, was connecting it to @mrlightning's grandfather. As I've written above, the best way to do that would be to compare the number on his arm to that on the form. Since he died peacefully in his sleep close to 30 years ago, the only way to try and compare was through documents and photographs. Thankfully, Mois' children kept whatever documents they could, hoping one day they would be of use in reconstructing this story. Searching in her home, Mois' daughter found his membership card in the union of Greek Holocaust survivors. On this card, in addition to his Israeli ID number, was his prisoner number under the caption "number on arm". It is the same as the one in the Auschwitz form. The pieces all fit.

What do I expect to find in Auschwitz?

To be honest, I don't quite know. This story has moved me, and though I doubt the archives there will have any more discoveries to offer, I think it's important I go there. It's important that I stand there, fully understanding the horrors this man survived, and admire him completely. Not only for somehow making it out, but also for having the emotional resilience to fall in love again and start a new family after losing his own.

-=-=-=-

Sort:  

I have been to Dachau once, an experience that I can not put in words. I am happy that I was around to help you in the quest.
I would be very interested to get to know how the visit has worked out for you. The best of luck Ilana and godspeed !
Yours
Jan

Thank you for helping. Thank you!!! It's a shame you won't be there with me to be the awesome supportive brother you are.

It is only when one makes the personal connection and sees the huge gaps in family trees, deals with people who grew up with no grandparents, uncles, aunts or cousins that one understands the true impact of the Holocaust.
I know this personally because my mother-in-law grew up that way. Apart from her parents who rebelled and moved to pre-state Israel in the 1930s, the entire extended family was murdered by the Nazis in small town a few 100km east of Krakow!

I wish I could find words worthy of acknowledging the undertaking and journey you have taken on with your partner.
So often the stories of Auschwitz become just that, stories, history. But their is still a lived legacy and this is something that can carry a richness and beauty despite the terrible great weight of it's past. The family tree you posted really reached out and touched me. I have a friend who is part of an extensive tree that grew from one woman, Masha, her grandmother and Auschwitz survivor.
My friend and her husband live in Sydney Australia. They have continued to share the story of her grandmother. They honour her through their music and dance ensemble, a fusion drawn from all parts of the world.

This is my friend Sarit. She tells the story of Masha's Legacy here. A lot more eloquently than me too.
https://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/hebrew/en/audiotrack/sarit-vandegraff-founder-mashas-legacy-english
https://m.facebook.com/mashas.legacy/?ref=page_internal&mt_nav=0

I would love to hear from you after the visit. Partly because I'm curious how it goes, partly because I'm trying to understand things.

I'm not going to pretend to understand the weight of a visit to Auschwitz to you - except even I with no links to that place have doubted many times if I 'should' visit. The reasons why you are going are beautiful though: "It's important that I stand there, fully understanding the horrors this man survived, and admire him completely."

I rather go carrying pride and admiration than the pain of knowing human beings did such a horrible thing to one another. The pain is always there, but I rather celebrate the resilience and strength of survivors than to mourn the death of victims. We do enough of that every year on Holocaust remembrance day.

Outstanding piece @techslut - I can't even imagine the emotions you must be feeling about all this. This post (and Part 1) are two of the best posts I've ever seen here on this platform. I wish you the best with the visit. I plan to visit too, but obviously it won't be anywhere near as significant to me as it would be to you. <3

What was your experience with?

I feel like it's one of those things you have to see once in your life. Not sure why, maybe for realization, respect and acknowledgement. It wasn't a fun trip as such but I feel like it was definitely worth seeing! I am happy I went :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted and resteemed.

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.25% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98