My Trapezoidal Road to Steeemfest

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

The weeks are counting down quite quickly. It only seemed like last week that I wrote my last Road to Steemfest post. :P Joking. It actually feels like it was yesterday. Again, thanks to @anomadsoul for putting together this freewrite hashtag for those going to the conference.

So here is a little map I threw together that shows what my physical road to Steemfest will sort of look like.

Road to Steemfest map.jpg

It's not so much of a road to Steemfest as a three-sided trapezoid to Steemfest.

Getting to Krakow

I am currently in Bucharest, Romania. A week before Steemfest happens I will be going to the Malta Blockchain Summit happening on the small island nation in the Mediterranean. You can find out a little more about that in this post. So yeah, I'll be spending a week in Malta. I didn't see that coming until about a week ago. I'll be going with a couple of my friends who are involved with blockchain. I think it will be a lot of fun and hopefully I learn a whole bunch about blockchain and the projects out there and meet awesome people. Here is what Malta looks like.

malta-485321_1920.jpg

source

From Malta, I will be taking a flight on the 6th of November to Munich for a short layover and then on to Krakow. So I'll be arriving late afternoon Tuesday and I'm looking forward to meeting some other early arrivers like @coruscate. Who else will be getting there Tuesday or before and would like to meet up? Oh, I'll be coming alone because @anomadsoul asked if we'll be bringing 3 kids or parrots. Nope, no shorty or little shorties or parrot shorties to speak of cuz I'm perpetually single.

Staying in Krakow

kaktus map.jpg

I'm staying in a private room in a hostel that is 2 blocks from the Qubus. I wanted a place I could easily walk to Qubus in the morning without freezing from being outside too long. It's called Hostel Kaktus and it's about 20 USD per night to stay there. Oh, and there is a 2nd bed in there so if you're single and still don't have a place booked to sleep in Krakow and don't need anything fancy... 10 bucks a night to store your luggage, cuz who will be sleeping during Steemfest? Me, to answer my own question. I need at least a few hours of sleep otherwise I become an antisocial grumpypants and I don't want to be that at my first Steemfest.

Hopefully there are some bakeries near there so I can get some breakfast and maybe coffee before starting the speaking sessions.

I am also open to taking your spare bed, if you have one in your Airbnb or hotel and you wouldn't mind bringing the cost down for yourself.

I have booked from the 6th to the 12th but I have no plans for after Steemfest yet. @luzcypher offered up the idea to have a post-Steemfest meetup in Thailand that sounds intriguing since I really want to go back to Asia.
There is a travel blogger conference in Morocco right after Steemfest that I thought about going to.
I think it'd be so cool to travel with other Steemians so tell me your plans for after Steemfest. Honestly, I might make a terrible travel buddy since I have so much work I need to do. Gotta edit those videos and make those Steemit posts.

Well, obviously I'm really good at selling myself, so who's in? 😄

Sort:  

See you in Krakow!! :D

I'm pretty sure @theaustrianguy might take you up on that room offer man! Great post, seems like the Malta summit will have a lot in store to offer. See ya in Krakow!

I'll have to do some posts telling what I got out of Malta. See ya!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @daveonarrival! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@lyzcypher @daveonarrival post meetup in Thailand would be cool! I'm headed straight to BKK afterward!

As soon as I can find a flight that's cheap but also the reviews don't scare the living daylights out of me.

Also, I'm the same!!! I HAVE SOOOO MUCH WORK. That I'm afraid it's stupid to even attempt to go to steemfest because I'll need to work like 19 hour days afterwards haha.

So I'd make a horrible travel buddy too. Unless someone wants to sit next to me and work in silence haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65