[Blog] Let's just change plans.

in #rigging6 years ago

310f16e6-30dc-4afb-b553-ad4c94a93850.jpeg


I started making my lattice like deformations with stretch/null type deformer matrices. It was working for the skull, and I'll still preserve it (it's a system that uses IK and stretch with cross hatch node offset controls for lattive deformations and squash/stretch volume preservation), perfect - but it wasn't working well with the facial aspects like the rim around the eyes and mouth. It would take a long time to configure, and the built in constraints of Blender/Bforartists weren't giving me the results I wanted without a lot of hard work. It would a tonne of configuration, so I thought.. better do that on controllers, not deformers as planned - but instead, let's tie in the facial drawing controls into Spline IK's - which I already know how to export to UE with shadow rigs.

So I turned my plans upside down and will rebuild the facial setup.

Continued Plans:

Again, this doesn't mean the controls change much. I'll still have a primary general quick draw controls for general posing animation workflow then the detail controls for shape/correction animation workflow.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13