Classic BMW motorcycle exhibition in Bangkok

in #riding3 years ago

I love motorcycles but do not currently own one. I don't know about my longevity in Thailand and it just seems a bit stupid to me to buy one when I might be leaving in a year or less. Thankfully, I have some friends in 3 different places in the country that have multiple bikes and they allow me to borrow them to go on rides with them many different times in the past year. We weren't allowed to go on these trips for a while thanks to the Covid checkpoints but that is all over now.

When I first started riding, I was more of a "chopper" guy but after one particularly long trip involving a Honda Steed I couldn't feel my arms or ass after we got to a location 4 hours away and it was at that point that my friend who was riding a touring bike let me have a try at his for a little while. It was at that point that I was converted and now I realize that touring bikes are the only way to go. In many circles, BMW is considered the crème de la crème of touring bikes so when I had a chance to go to a show featuring classic bikes I jumped at the chance.


image.png

I don't know enough about bikes to really understand the historical significance of these bikes, but I do appreciate them as well as the monstrous pile of cash that the owner of them must be sitting on to have such an impressive collection.


image.png

The reason why I prefer touring bikes is because the seated position is a lot more natural and even these bikes don't actually have you in that position. Today's touring bikes are meant to put as little strain on your body, especially your back as possible. This is definitely not the case with "choppers" where they seem to go out of their way to put your body in as ridiculous a position as possible. Don't even get me started on crotch rockets.


image.png

For someone that knows a lot more about motorcycles than I do, this would probably be a wonderful museum type experience. For me I just stood back and looked at how shiny and awesome they all were. I don't know how much these bikes cost to purchase but at this particular show none of the bikes were for sale anyway. It happened inside of a motorcycle supply store and it was free. I did make a small purchase on my way out because it was the right thing to do.


image.png

Me and my friend chose a favorite at the end and this one was mine although I can say I would probably be less than delighted about that spring bicycle seat. I have never rode on a bike that had a seat like that so I don't really know how it would be. Maybe it's fantastic... I have no idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88