Anime Review - Your Lie in April (Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso)

in #review7 years ago

Drama, Music, Romance, School, Shounen

I nearly skipped this gem just because of the music tag. Not really big into music anime but somehow the art dragged me into watching the first few episodes. The first episode was an average episode with few interesting plot lines. But the second episode was the hook. Irony. The tag that made me nearly skip this anime was the one that kept me in it. The music, the music... THE MUSIC.. what can I say? It was just right down my taste. Never in my life did I thought of "oh hey let's listen to some classical music" but this anime opened a new taste in music in me. And I'm grateful for that.

Synopsis:

Music accompanies the path of the human metronome, the prodigious pianist Kousei Arima. But after the passing of his mother, Saki Arima, Kousei falls into a downward spiral, rendering him unable to hear the sound of his own piano.

Two years later, Kousei still avoids the piano, leaving behind his admirers and rivals, and lives a colorless life alongside his friends Tsubaki Sawabe and Ryouta Watari. However, everything changes when he meets a beautiful violinist, Kaori Miyazono, who stirs up his world and sets him on a journey to face the music again.

Based on the manga series of the same name, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso approaches the story of Kousei's recovery as he discovers that music is more than playing each note perfectly, and a single melody can bring in the fresh spring air of April.

Art and Animation:


The Art and the Animations fit the Anime really well. The character design is rather unique, but not that different from other Animes. The Animation team really did a good job of making the small details in Anime really refined - and that is what makes the Anime seem so real and emotional. The Colors and brightness of each scene really set the mood and adjust to the certain situation within the Anime.

Music:


I really am not a fan of classic music or music at all. I wouldn't say that I hate or despise it, it's just not my time. But this Anime really made me open up to this kind of music and I can say that I'm in love with every single soundtrack of this Anime. I'm also a personal fan of the OPs and EDs, both of which suit the show well. Not much else to say here, really. It's just solid.

Overall:


Your lie in April is a pretty slow moving Anime that will not start with a lot of stories at first but will slowly but surely build up to it's story. And that is fine because of it really suits the mood of the Anime. On top of its other strong points, it’s aurally and visually a joy to the senses. It's deep and sad meaning really touched my heart and is something that everyone should think about. It’s not without a few setbacks, but in the end, Your Lie in April fashions itself to be a stand-out romance series that reminds us that while some relationships may be transient and brief, some people will come into our lives at just the right time for just long enough to touch us in a way we never thought possible.

Sort:  

I've been eyeing up more things to watch. Looked over this the other day. Music made me think... nah. But I'll give it a watch after reading this. Thanks!

I passed this up awhile ago myself not being interested in the plot at first but it showed up on my anime searches a few times so i gave it a shot. Im glad i watched it but it was kind of a tear jerker. I could feel the emotions of the characters and actually cried at the end. All in all it was a great watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85