Helen

in #review6 years ago

I was writing yesterday about this new word that came my way.
As I was saying, I found it reading the story of Achilles which is really a re-telling of the war of Troy and adapted from various sources. It really brought back my interest in the mythology and I realized I never read The Iliad and Odyssey and there are a ton of nuances I missed when I read about this first time. From a storytelling point of view, it seems to me now that is very interesting and captivating.

So, as I was browsing about thinking about this, I see that Netflix just has a new show out. What show could it be?!

Perfect! I found my weekend binge and also interested to see how this plays out. Every re-telling also come with changes...because of out cultural landscape but also the creator's interpretation so is interesting to see what changes have been made and wonder why.

One thing I noticed is how at certain point I'm thinking:
THIS is NOT how the story goes!
The last one is still very fresh in my mind and it objects. No, no, no...this character is wrong, this thing is wrong, this is not how it happened. But then I stopped to wonder, why am I so adamant on "right" when it's actually fiction. There is no "right" in an absolute way. Sure, Homer must have seen it like that but then we see it a bit different.

For example, ZEUS is black. Achilles is black. I know this is not a storytelling decision but it is an interesting one.
Another thing I noticed is how the characters are a bit fuller but also "better". This is a story with no "bad" or "good" though one could say that stealing a wife is "bad" but also Helen went on her own will ( and abandoned her daughter in the process) so maybe they are the "bad" guys. However, much like WW1 when Austria asked for impossible terms from Serbia, the Greeks over impossible terms for Troy to accept. They too wanted war and the riches of Troy and Helen was merely an excuse...

Just as when WW1 started and everyone said everyone will be back by Christmas, the Greeks start thinking all it will be over fast.

I know how this ends, but I'll still watch it fast. There's always something new to find in this.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

They rarely get historically based movies right in my opinion, and that's why I prefer documentaries. But I'll still check it out maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised.

I mean...this is not really history, this is mythology. The whole thing stars with the actual goddesses asking him to chose who's the most beautiful while Zeus watches. This is actual real gods that are players in this story so there's no history...
But for a history accurate and pretty good movie I'd recommend The Darkest Hour if you are into WW2 and 1.

The movies from 2017 ? the trailer didn't impress me but maybe I'll give it a shot

Aww man! I wish I didn't drop my Netflix! This looks really good.

I watched the movie from Netflix. I think the story is too different from the original one.

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06