Would Smallville Have Been Better With Batman Rather Than Green Arrow?

in #review5 years ago

4468208-0348383991-600fu.jpg

Hey guys,

So in continuing my re-watching of the CW's first hit superhero series, Smallville, I got to the season where the Green Arrow was first introduced and suddenly remembered that, at the time, the showrunners wanted Bruce Wayne's batman instead of the emerald archer. Trouble was, DC was holding tight to the permits for their star character and didn't allow it. However, their version of Oliver Queen's Green Arrow became a massive success and was one of the reasons the later seasons of the show were a great hit.

With this, one cannot help but wonder if the show would have done as well or even better if batman had been used instead. I mean, I can't really picture those cheery Green Arrow scenes in the dark knight's signature gloomy moments. Could they have pulled it off?

What seems most likely to me is that the series would have ended up going in a whole different direction. Perhaps he would have still been the originator of the Justice League and Watchtower, but that whole relationship with Lois and then Chloe thing? Can't see that happening.

What do you think?


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

I don't think it would have worked. It's been a while since I saw Smallville, but Batman just wouldn't fit with the tone of the show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14