MINDHUNTER - Dark Look into the Human Mind [Netflix series review]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Netflix is on the rise pushing countless original series, and one newcomer in their collection caught my eye: Mindhunter.

Source

I checked its IMDb score which was 8,9 stars out of 10, and thought: "Let's give it a try."

I don't base my viewing choices only on IMDb scores but I like to use it as a guideline for getting a hunch whether one can expect something decent.

And boy, didn't that try hit the bulls eye; having watched the complete first season twice (that's big for me; I rarely give second views for movies, even harder for series!) I can say that it's one of the best series I've ever watched. In fact I was so fascinated by it I felt like doing my first film/series review on it!

This review is unbiased, meaning I haven't looked any other material considering the series, and it contains NO spoilers about the plot.


What is it about?


Source

The main character: FBI agent Holden Ford.

Following the theme of Stranger Things, Mindhunter is also set on the past, more precisely to a year 1977. In the main part of the series is an FBI agent Holden Ford who with a help of a small team attempts to deepen his understanding on violent and unexpected criminal acts that haven't been able to be explained by current methods, diving to new unexplored grey areas of criminology to create a profiling framework with a help of psychology.

The past time, 1977, strangely gives a fresh breath of air to the mixture of complicated and chaotic criminal series; there are no magical 'hackers' or advanced technology confusing the viewer and the events were easy to follow and understand.

The atmosphere is very dark and disturbing, and it could potentially freak you out if you don't have experience on similar shows.


Characters

Source
Holden Ford on the left and his partner FBI agent Bill Tench from Behavioral Sciences on the right.

In psychology many experiments have been conducted with questionable ethics, and it has a reputation of functioning in a grey area with no implicit answers to problems, and the same goes with the characters: There are no 'good' or 'bad' characters portrayed per se. The development was great and I had to stop and rethink the nature of some character(s) when new information was revealed. But it happens very slightly "behind the curtain" left for the viewer to figure it out.

Overall I think the characters are very human and believable. I never became annoyed with any character even if I didn't like his/her actions, which I think is a product of characters that one can easily relate even when their intentions aren't exactly clear. Maybe that is the thing that makes them so relateable; neither everybody in real life knows exactly their intentions.


Dialogue

Source

The dialogue is AMAZING! It's long and steady paced given enough time to build up, to get into the rhythm and be absorbed in it; sometimes I realized myself being so intensely in it I totally forgot my surroundings. The dialogue is almost like thriller by itself, much of the tension being built on top of it. But even the length in dialogue made no conversation pointless; there is always something new to catch from smart and witty dialogues, or serious discussions, be it new information about their life, attitudes or thinking patterns.

The dialogue is a big part of the appeal on the series: it kept me engaged in a level that is beyond what I've experienced before. It always caught my attention even in the most mundane of circumstances: a car ride, a lunch brake or a plane fly. It always adds something to the story.

The depth in dialogue is a major part of the whole series that separates it from other crime series, and I think it is what gives the "magic" and breath of life to the whole series. I would even claim it being the backbone for Mindhunter's capturing ability, along with excellent characters.


In the end

I was amazed how I felt like being treated intelligent as a viewer! How about that! This is because the series always gave me something to think because it didn't give answers but let the cards remain face down for the viewers to figure it out. It's one the most intellectually stimulating series I've experienced!

With different concepts concerning psychology and sociology coming up it was fascinating to compare the past with today, based on my own understanding on the topics that I hold a big interest in. But holding knowledge on these areas before hand is noway necessary for an enjoyable viewing experience.

I never got to say it but the series also holds a big cinematic value; the widescreen camera beautifully captures the feel of late 1970's setting, as far as I know; I don't live in the state's nor was I even born at the time. But I could definitely see how they used the camera to enhance the story, and they did it well.

Source


Not to forget the catchy soundtrack:

"time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping,
into the future"


Mindhunter is not your Hollywood go to blast; it's a journey into the dark mysteries of human mind, intention and behavior. It will definitely be a worth watch for people interested in humans, criminal series or just for lover's of beautiful cinema and excellent characters and dialogue. Or if you just want to try out something different and fascinating.

I think I've said it all; now go check it if this interview sparked your interest, and tell me what you liked it if you've seen it already!

Sort:  

I second your review: such a great intelligent show... where actually "nothing is happening" and everything is hanging together thanks to great dialogue and characterization. Can't wait for the second season!

Hey, @herverisson, and thanks for commenting!

Now thinking about it, surprisingly little happens plot wise, indeed. I am as excited as you are for the second season!

I guess that the second season will focus on the creepy moustachioed guy we see at the beginning of each episode. He seems to be planning something...

We will see...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77