FutureNet Scam or Not? - Quick and Short Review

in #review8 years ago (edited)

I just joined FutureNet. A friend somehow convinced me to try it, and without any prior checking (as I usually do), I just jumped in.

FutureNet

My friend invited me through his referral link, but I ended up under some totally random selected sponsor. I'm not thrilled with that fact at all. How could this possibly happen? - Very bad beginning!

The "best" thing regarding that randomly selected sponsor is, it appears she doesn't even use FutureNet anymore if she was using it at all according to her empty profile page (without the avatar and cover photo) and with an entirely empty timeline.

Never the less, I circled the platform a bit just to experience the general look and feel, watched tutorials and webinars I could find there and dozens of videos on YouTube.

My current findings

The platform has a very similar "look and feel" as Facebook what I would consider as positive especially if the target audience is FB users who, in that case, would more quickly and more or less easily adopt.
On the other hand (according to my current testing) functionality, for many things, unfortunately, doesn't follow that "look & feel."

Research and Findings

Finding new people or popular posts around there, it's not easy if even possible. The only thing I could find, whatever I typed in the search, as first is a bunch of non-active groups and fan pages, followed by 90% abandoned personal accounts.
Pure horror of inactivity!

After my quick and short tour around, when I sum it all, it turns out, the primary goal here is to bring in new people (for free) to enlarge the community, even I don't know why would anyone left i.e. Facebook and all the excitement going on there they could easily find.
According to my friend promotional speech, I assume, someone might say because of high security and privacy they allegedly offer, what I doubt just having in mind their terrible mess up with referral/sponsor upon my registration.

Crowd on the street

After that, the second goal would be to convince those just brought in people - new members to upgrade, in other words, spend some money and throw into the system own hard earned cash (at least $10 or even better, as it's recommended as an optimal minimum, $185).
My question is, WHAT FOR???

  1. Just to build some new network, followers or what so ever on some new platform?
    Why, if they already did it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram or any other similar platform or application?!

  2. To create and write a blog?
    That one is not even free there, so why would someone chose FutureNet for blogging beside so many free to join, free to use blogging platforms out there, and not even to mention those who are offering some payments for the contribution?!

My Conclusion

The platform is offering 90% revenue share with the members what in my opinion can't be true. As first, there is no activity and a platform is already over a year old by now. There are no advertisements around (except their own), so where from that revenue would come from?! - In other words, there is no revenue or at least not for free.

Bottom line, a complete network is set on some pyramidal (not free) MLM scheme. Meaning, drag in all the suckers (pardon my French) you can find out there, bring them in, convince them to upgrade (pay) at least $10 (for nothing) and teach them to do the same. - Bravo! What an invention in the industry!?!

MLM

Personally, I hate MLM schemes, no matter if they are (as in most cases) pyramidal or of some other kind.
Maybe, MLM was a great invention 50 or so years ago when nobody knows and even less thinks it through what it really is. But today, I don't think so.

In my opinion, it's not good, and it can't be for a few very simple reasons.

  • There is always someone on the Top (who gain it all) and
  • There is always someone on the Bottom (who suck it all)
  • It's always only a one-directional chain with the Beginning and The End because the number of consumers (or even the whole World population) is NOT endless.

From my point of view, if there is no possibility for money flow, goods exchange or what so ever in every direction equally or if the probability that it happens is low close to none, the system would fail and die sooner or later, but for sure.

All Directions - Arrows

To paint more clear picture let me ask you this - Have you ever heard of any MLM in which the sponsor or those on the top would buy, inside that very same system, something from their referrals, from those on the end of the chain or at the bottom of the pyramid? - I didn't!

The only thing someone might find eventually useful at the moment, and according to FutureNet's current Alexa ranking, could be using the timeline there inside the free membership for posting backlinks to own original blog or website.

Futurenet.club Alexa Ranking

All the rest is one big NO from my side!


@ana-maria
Posted on September 13, 2016

Blue Follow Me Button

Sort:  

I have been on there since the beginning, paid my $10 but can't stand the User Interface so I don't log in often. I have also never sponsored anyone.

I just don't see any meaningful and useful purpose of that and such networks for some broader audience.

Firstly I'd like to say that MLM isn't a pyramid scheme by default. 2ndly I had high hopes for FutreNet but it was very quickly overwhelmed by business opportunity posts rather than real social networking. There are lessons for Steemit from previous incentivised social networks such as Tsu and FutreNet. Especially that creating a sharing community regardless of financial reward is critical to your long term success.

As first, thank you for your input @stephen-somers!
Secondly, I would like to draw your attention that I didn't say MLMs are a pyramidal scheme by default. I said that they are "in most cases," or if you allow me to clarify it better. - Those I came across mostly were pyramidal. (And I believe I am allowed to build my opinion upon that.)

Furthermore, I don't see any connection with

lessons for Steemit from previous incentivised social networks such as Tsu and FutreNet.

and my article or even less with me. It simply doesn't apply, if anything else because I began my article with "I just joined FutureNet." - meaning, I'm not some old disappointed and/or frustrated (by any means) member of FutureNet. No, that's not the case!

The case is, I joined the FutureNet several days ago (even I'm watching the advertisements around for a long time), what I found there was not what it was presented to me neither what is promoted in the media around by its members, and definitively not what I expected.
Not to jump into conclusion upon more or less first impression, I dug a bit deeper, searched around a little bit more, talked about it with few people who were or still are members of the network, and summing all the findings finally came up with the conclusion described in above article. That's it! Nothing more, nothing less! (And I believe I am allowed to say my opinion and share my findings.)

But in case you are maybe still doubting what my intentions were with this article, let me clarify that one too.

  1. I wanted to warn people who would maybe come across this article and FutureNet to check it better and think twice before investing some time, effort or even money, as from my point of view and at the moment it would be just a waste of time.
  2. For those who are there for some time, already invested the time, effort or even money - to show how the network might look like to some random passerby​ as I was and think it over is it truly so appealing as they believe it is. Accordingly, openminded inside this group (who wouldn't see this article as criticism pointed personally to them), are exactly the ones who can initiate some positive change there, as an old, devoted and faithful members. - I can't do that as a newcomer.
  3. For founders and the network management stuff applies all the previous, but again, only if they could read it openminded.

Last but not least, and even putting aside the fact that each commodity has its customer as well as affinities and tastes are not for discussion, let me ask you...
Why do you think me or anybody else wouldn't be able to create a sharing community on Steemit (same as elsewhere) if our interest, passion or even business are Social Media, Social Networks, platforms, applications, ​etc. ???

I am sorry you found my comment overly critical as this wasn't my intent, I am not defending FutureNet or All MLM in any way.
You are absolutely able to make your own determinations on how you see anything ( as am I or anyone else). My comment about sustainability of any social network is directed towards the fact that despite any financial incentive given for sharing, to be successful there must be genuine sharing and interaction among community members. Some other Incentivized "Social" networks such as Tsu and FutureNet have not retained a loyal community due to the lack of genuine sharing, this is confirmed by your comment about FutureNet "a bunch of non-active groups and fan pages, followed by 90% abandoned personal accounts."
I hope that Steemit continues to grow and become the huge sucess that I believe it can be. Although some of the current statistics about user growth compared to daily posts and total active accounts are sounding a warning that a large percentage of new users are not being inspired to continue posting and interacting which cant be good in the long term.

I totally agree -i do find other platforms more promising

There are some other network launches in preparation, but will see what they would bring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17