GAME OF THRONES - THE WATCH FINALLY ENDED!

in #review5 years ago


image
Who would have known none of these four would sit on the iron throne?

If you haven't seen the final episode, download it here.

Overhyped or not, GOT is the most watched TV series of all time. Fans had anticipated the final season for almost a year and their anxiousness to see how everything will turn out came to an end yesterday. Some believed the series shouldn't have been like this; it should have ended in season 7, they said. Perhaps, the directors wanted to make more money or they had more stories to tell, the season 8 just came through as they promised. Was it up to standard? Well, it's up to the viewers to tell. In fact, some fans are already signing petitions to remake the final season. I won't get to that though. This is just me reviewing what I watched.

At a point or let me say in this final season, the writers didn't care about the story, all they wanted was to satisfy the viewers. They were basically playing with our minds and giving us what we wanted, while making it unpredictable in the process. Some percentage of the fans wants Jon to rule, some wants Dany to rule and most of us wants the North to be independent. There was no better way to do this than to satisfy everyone. The story should have ended with Dany ruling six kingdoms while Jon ruling the North, but no, they wanted to twist it more. So in the process, they made Dany mad. She did the unthinkable. She turned into a beast all of a sudden. This is someone that had lots of chances to become mad, but she calmed down. She even said whe won't be queen of the ashes. She didn't tear down mountains or places when she lost two dragons, she didn't do anything awful when a witch killed her baby and couldn't save her husband. But in the last moment, when what she'd always wanted was just a mile away, she snapped and destroyed things, things and people she intend ruling. Poor writing and a terrible way of giving us what we want, I must say.

I was part of the people that wanted Jon to rule. I was a fan of Dany not until she killed Sam's father and brother for not bending the knee. I recalled that as an unnecessary act, so I shifted my vote to Jon. Yes, maybe they realized a larger percentage of fans wants Jon to rule, so the only way to make that happen was to remove Dany out of the picture. But Dany fans would be mad, so not making Jon the King would relax her fans. They had it all figured out. I honestly don't see a perfect story writing here. Dany had no reason to do what she did. She just can't be mad like that. I know it's fiction, but it should be real, shouldn't it? There should have been a way to remove Dany out of the picture than making Jon kill her.

Okay, let's forget about that. There are still other things to talk about. Things like, how many days, months or years were Jon and Tyrion held as prisoners? When they revealed them, both of them had grown bears, meaning they've been held for a long time, and there was no sign of maltreatment or punishment given to them. They were just in a locked house for months, I guess. Let's put ourselves in Grey Worm's shoes. Would we have kept Jon in prison for killing our queen, someone we grew to love dearly? What would be the first thing to do when we hear the news? I was expecting Jon to flee when she killed Dan. He didn't, and the unsolid and Dortraki didn't kill him for it. How was that possible? Then, the most respected men and women in the country came together to decide Jon and Tyrion's fate. The unsolid actually waited for Kings landing to have a new king before passing verdict. The unsolid I know wouldn't do that.

I must confess, that writing is so lame. The unsolid and Dortraki swore to fight for one person, Dany. I never expected them to bow and respect another king's decision. They had the army to chase them away and take over Westeros. When Grey Worm said the land was theirs, I was pleased because that's what should have happened, but they respected the new king's decision and left kings landing. They just want to make their writings unpredictable. Most of us had expected either Jon or Dany to rule, but they changed everything and made someone we never thought of to rule. Thereby, making both Dany and Jon's fans happy. I'm not sure how those behind Dany would feel though. She died and that's awful.


image

Where's Drogon? She was last seen flying with Dany's corpse after burning the iron throne. Yeah, I guess she was trying to tell Jon, "you killed your sister because of this chair? Watch me, you won't sit on it, too." I don't speak dragon's language, but you will all agree with me the message is close to this. I was actually expecting Arya to kill the beast. The prophesy about her shutting brown and green eyes was rubbish after all.

Lastly, the three eyed raven turned out to be the master planer at the end of the day. He could see the future, so he might have known what would happen if he revealed Jon's true identity. I assume he already knew Dany will go mad, Jon will kill her and he will be made king. This series just turned out to be complicated. There are still a lot of things yet untold. It's still a good TV series anyway. But I wouldn't name it the greatest of all time.

Our watch has ended.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi afolwalex,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks. 😉

Hi @afolwalex, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail, setting us as your witness proxy, or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Congratulations @afolwalex! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

hi @afolwalex
I must confess that I am among the few who have not followed Game of Thrones !! but maybe sooner or later I'll download everything and watch it, just to be able to share criticism! But I think that fans who really love a TV series would never want to see the end, while watching something always happens you don't like it: maybe a character you like dies, or other characters leave the production ... and you feel terrible for this and you don't agree! How can you please everyone? then new characters enter that at the beginning you hate and then you become fond of them too, and so on for years !! They become like your extended family, don't you think? My mother hates productions in episodes, but I wish they would never end !!
congratulations on the curie vote and thanks for sharing with us

maybe a character you like dies, or other characters leave the production ... and you feel terrible for this and you don't agree!

It's not about me liking a particular character. In fact, the review wasn't about what I wanted. I've seen a lot of movies that ended with my favorite character dying - I still loved most of those movies anyway. Avengers End game for example, Iron Man died, but it was still a good movie.

GOT just changed the direction of the whole series. They want to be very unpredictable and it costed them a lot of mistakes and unnecessary scenes. That's what I'm concerned about.

Thanks for stopping by. 😀

yes, I understood, I was speaking in general. I say that some will be liked and others will not. The producers are there to do this, to try to surprise you, but they are not always capable of it in the right way! as for errors and useless scenes I can not say anything because, in fact, I have not seen it! it is interesting, however, to see people so attentive to details like you.

yeah I heard 300,000 people had signed a petition for remake of season 8. Crazy, isn't it. Such fans

Lol! Some just couldn't believe it ended that way. 😀

In my opinion, the whole last season was a bit disappointing. I don't want to be a hater of this TV series, but how many of you, big fans, had at least once a thought that the directors of Game Of Thrones involved you in so-called "Lost Effect" or "Breaking Bad Effect", which means that every next season is worse than a previous one, but still, you are not going to stop watching because it will be over soon and you've already watched a lot and it is somehow pointless to quit it right now after so many hours.

Lol!
Every season was good until season 7 and 8. And yes, we continued because we'd started and the hype couldn't stop us from watching.
It's still a good series anyway.

As I also pointed out in one of my posts, finally this is over. I loved the series, but it had become more of a social media spectacle than the tremendously complex and fascinating story it was meant to be.
About some of your observations,

they made Dany mad. She did the unthinkable. She turned into a beast all of a sudden.

I'd say that this outcome was kind of suggested many times. I was not surprised. In fact, it made me think of the people who go mad and shoot people around or kill loved ones and then selves, and people wonder, what happened? "I did not see it coming", when in fact, if attention was paid to the events that led to the tragic outcome, the behavior would not have bene so out of touch. It was "logical" for Dany to go mad after so many losses and the inminent rejection she knew she'd face.

I think she had plenty of reasons to do what she did. Most rulers grow insensitive and she had already learned that in that world she had to show some nerve to gain respect and fear (the Machiavellian combination/recipe).

About the unsullied's inability to punish Jon more harshly, I think that we must remember that they were soldiers, emasculated soldiers, at that. They never had self-initiative, they followed orders. Jon was even more powerful than Dany, especially considering that he was a legitimate hair to the iron throne. That information must have been given to the unsullied at some point.

The role of soldiers in world affairs is something this series should make people reflect about, especially where there is a change or regime and the same soldiers are supposed to serve a new ruler.

The series was good, probably the best so far, but as you suggest, fans' pressure might have "sullied" the final result a little bit.

Dany cared for the less privileged right from the very beginning. She freed many slaves and made them realize their lives is worth something, too. If losing some dear ones could change her mission and past behavior, then they should have done that earlier. She lost a lot more along the way, but she still kept cool and persisted on making the people like her, but when what she'd always wanted was just a grab away, she flipped.
Why?
Because she was betrayed?
Was it because of Missandel's death or both reasons contributed to her actions?

If Jammie hadn't killed his king, Dany might never experienced all what she encountered. She even said she and her brother had told lots of stories about how they were going to kill the king's slayer, but when that opportunity presented itself, what did she do? She forgave him! It's funny how this Dany could do what she swore she'd never do (be the queen of ashes, burn the city) all because of what?

She loved her dragons more than anything. When Euron's fleet killed one, she didn't get mad. She could have destroyed Euron right there with her rage or end up being killed. The madness should have began from there. And if betrayal was the reason she did what she did, then I don't know why she spared Jon and Tyrion and channeled her rage on the innocents. Well, this is just my opinion.

And about the Unsolid; they aren't just soldiers. They follow only one person, Dany. They cared less about nothing nor anyone. When the city was destroyed, it became theirs and there was no central authority. Jon killed the only person they love. I just don't see them waiting for someone to give verdict.

Hello @afolwalex, I'm glad I came across your review. I've watched the show and it was interesting to see your point of view.
I was a Dany fan for quite a period but as you say, my admiration started to change when she ordered the killing of Sam's father and brother for not bending the knee. I felt sorry for poor Sam. Jon started to grow on me and he was my favorite along with Tyrion.
I agree with you, it should have been another way to prevent Dany of ruling. How many characters were jailed for various reasons, Dany could have been jailed but I think Jon couldn't have lived with knowing her in jail, so that's why he killed her. It's just a theory.
I was disappointed to see Sansa ruling instead of Arya. Sansa was not smart nor had she any ruling skills, yet, she took over. Bran on the other hand was fir to rule in my opinion.
Overall it was a very strange ending and your have here and excellent review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79