Robocop 2 (NES, Game Boy)

in #retrogaming7 years ago (edited)


http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2013/09/17/robocop-2-game-boy/

The first Robocop was one of the arcade games at the Jr. Store (similar to a 7-Eleven) near my house that I dropped many quarters into. They always had two arcade games there that rotated out periodically. I liked both the game and the movie. The second game and second movie were really both more of the same but I never liked them as much. I guess they just didn't add enough that was new.

Oddly, while this seems to be an ad for both the NES and Game Boy ports, it shows screen shots from the Game Boy. You would think they would show screen shots from the NES version since they would theoretically look superior. Possibly the Game Boy version was done first but I'm not sure.

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2013/09/17/robocop-2-game-boy/

Sort:  

What is funny about this ad, besides not showing #Nintendo screenshots too, is that they used the Super #Gameboy screens (color shots of a game that plays on a #blackandwhite #portable).

I know there was a developmental system similar to the super game boy used for such purposes. I imagine they do that just because it is easier to get screen shots. It's probably pretty hard if you literally have to take pictures of a game boy screen.

True, and the screens with a bit of color are probably easier to print versus straight up black and white, or they are more pleasing to the eye, and hopefully bring in sales.

It is advertising after all :)

I don't know this game, but I'm glad that I had the opportunity to know if through reading your post, @darth-azrael! I have just upvoted it ;)
You may be interested in reading my new post about "Pokemon Go": https://steemit.com/gaming/@lazariko12/w-h-a-t-h-a-p-p-e-n-e-d-t-o-t-h-e-g-a-m-e-p-o-k-e-m-o-n-g-o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10