Mega Play (April/May 1993)

in #retrogaming5 years ago (edited)


https://megalextoria.blogspot.com/2019/04/mega-play-aprilmay-1993.html

Mega Play was a bi-monthly magazine dedicated to the Sega Genesis (and add-ons) that started life as an insert in Electronic Gaming Monthly. It was published from November/December 1990 to June/July 1995. The April/May 1993 issue includes:

  • Editorial - Sega's staying ahead of the competition with advanced video game technology, including an assortment of new peripherals and accessories for their game systems.

  • Mega Mail - Any questions? This is your chance to ask the experts! Read on to get the latest breaking news in the Sega World!

  • Hi-Tech Sega - A look at Sega's new 6 button controller and the latest on the 3-D war between Sega's Slipheed and Nintendo's StarFox.

  • Mega Tricks
    • Road Avenger
    • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
    • Rolo to the Rescue
    • Gods
    • Batman: Revenge of the Joker
    • Biohazard Battle
    • Hook

  • Coming Attractions - Slipheed, debuting from Sega, is a revolutionary new breed of shooter, taking polygon graphics and texture mapping to the limits!
    • Slipheed VR
    • Cyborg Justice
    • Rocket Knight Adventures
    • X-Men
    • The Flintstones
    • Citizen-X
    • The Secret of Monkey Island
    • Journey From Darkness: Strider Returns
    • Aero the Acrobat
    • Virtual VCR: Prince
    • Who Shot Johnny Rock?
    • Gallagher's Gallery
    • Mad Dog McCree
    • Power Modeler
    • Pacific Theater of Operations
    • Mortal Kombat

  • Mega Previews
    • Cool Spot
    • Rolling Thunder 3
    • Splatterhouse 3
    • Blaster Master 2
    • Jungle Strike

  • Mega Files
    • Shining Force
    • Elemental Master
    • Tiny Toon Adventures: Buster's Treasure Hunt

  • Sega CD File - Buckle up for two intense graphic trips on your Sega CD with Road Avenger and Time Gal. Both will keep you in awe for hours!

  • Mega Reviews
    • The Humans
    • Risky Woods
    • TMNT: The Hyperstone Heist

Read more: http://www.megalextoria.com/wordpress/index.php/2019/04/17/mega-play-aprilmay-1993/


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

I have a soft spot for gaming publications in general, specifically those of the 8 and 16-bit era as there simply was no Internet to depend on. I remember buying all of them, the Turbo Grafx-16 mag (Turbo View or something), a short lived Game Boy one by the publishers of Game Player's (along with their general publication and strategy isuses), among many others.

A few years ago I had to unload my EGM and Gamefan collections in two separate auctions (got more than enough to bail me out of my financial woes of the moment). Unfortunately, I have not gotten the bug to rebuild that 300+ issue collection again - I still have over 1,000 issues of other publications though from Enter (early 1980's mag) to Game Informer circa late PS3/prior to PS4). We had a floor fall through in our old place due to the weight of the mags (they are now spread out).

When I want to remember a simpler time in life, I will go into my office area, pull out a small milk crate and randomly grab 30 to 40 issues and sit on my couch and just thumb through them with my phone playing some 80's music videos on YouTube.

There were a few specific titles I bought back in the day: VideoGames & Computer Entertainment, EGM, Commodore Magazine and RUN. Later on (probably around 2004), I bought a bunch of magazines through eBay and from what I remember they were dirt cheap at that time. Compute!'s Gazette and other Commodore 64 magazines and older EGMs that I had missed for the most part. I've been thinking about getting rid of some and at least reducing back down to what I originally owned... I do have digital copies of all of them but it just isn't the same. I'm not sure exactly how many I have but it's probably closer to 500 than 1000.

There is definitely something different about holding a magazine versus reading a digital copy. Nothing beats holding it and looking closely at screen shots that catch your eye.

I loved getting the computer mags that had the type-in programs. When we were doing a physical magazine for RGM we played with the idea of reviving the type-in program considering the popularity of BASIC interpreters for so many platforms (and many games not being over a few hundred lines of code for the earlier platforms).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73