I Was An Atomic Mutant: Play Your Own 1950's Monster Movie

in #retrogaming4 years ago

One of the games I played in my teenage years is I Was An Atomic Mutant. I forgot the game's name since then but I looked it up before writing this article.

I was given the game in a USB flash memory stick by someone I know, and I played it for a day or three with my brother and cousins and then deleted it to save space (my PC at the time was weak even by late 00s standards.)

The game was a sandbox where you control a huge monster and spread havoc in human world. You could destroy cities, skyscrapers and enemy airplanes.

I Was An Atomic Mutant has an elements of a movie theater. There was an option for making the whole game in Black and White, with a movie curtains around the HUD and audience at the bottom! I think the developers aimed for "create your own 1950-era Godzilla movie" theme.

Playable monsters include the Godzilla-like Reptomicus, the 50 foot tall woman She-Beast, a giant Robot, and a giant Brain thing. While you could choose from various playable monsters, you can only play levels in the same order.

The game is pretty short and gets repetitive really fast, which is one of the reasons I didn't play it for long.

I don't remember if there was an objective in the end, but I do remember that I finished levels at random and didn't know if it there was a time limit or a damage limit that let me succeed in them. I only closed the game via the main menu and there wasn't a save button for all I knew.

Despite the game flaws and being low budget in every sense. My teenage self enjoyed being the bringer of destruction!

I don't have a lot of things to say about this game. It doesn't seem to be available for purchase on Steam or GOG which is a shame. It's an interesting retro game that deserves new audience.

What do you think?


All images are directly taken from Mobygames.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04