House Painting - What a Chore!

in #renovations6 years ago

About 12 months ago, I decided that I needed to paint my house. The front half of my house was built in the 1960's and is made from sturdy old hardwood weatherboards. However, I don't think the house had been painted for around 30 years and most of the paint had started to flake away and the weatherboard beneath was exposed to the elements. The undercoat had also cracked pretty badly in places so it all needed to be scraped back to bare board, an oil-based undercoat applied (grey) and then 2 top-coats of the blue applied..... All in all, it is pretty labour intensive!

The sun in Queensland can be pretty harsh and you can see that as the walls of the house facing the sun were the worst.

Anyway, it is the winter school holidays so I thought I had better get to work and smash out the remaining walls.

IMG_6566.JPG
This is the back wall that cops most of the morning sun and is pretty high (2 storeys) and all I have is a 6 metre ladder. It has been a mission but I am nearly there on this wall.

IMG_6568.JPG
I finished this side wall first as it is lower to the ground and didn't need as much work as the other walls. Pretty happy to have finalised this side of the house.

IMG_6567.JPG
This side, flanked by the banana trees, still has a strip at the top to do and then a final top-coat to be added. Hopefully by the end of the week I'll finish this side.

IMG_6569.JPG
This is the front of the house that cops a wallop from the afternoon sun. As you can see I have done a small amount at the bottom but I need to remove the window shades to complete the rest. This is a two-person job so this wall will stay until last!


I am hoping to knock over most of the painting by the end of the week which means I need to get my 'arse off the grass' and get moving. I am nearly there though and I'll be very happy once it is finished!

Thanks for reading!


Make Sure To Vote For These
Awesome Steem Witnesses!

DQmcRhugXJtKG9NtzBxvgVYr7YB5rg2Rvziokw7i8uU88fb.png


Come and join us in the Team Australia Discord Channel

Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the fantastic footers :)

Sort:  

Urgh! Is this STILL going? I remember your previous posts.

Yes and Yes! It's a painful job.... Too hot a job for summer!

I don't envy you.

*****Beautifl and lovely house*****

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04