Self-Conquest - October 15

in #religion7 years ago

Self-Conquest

The conquest of self is the grandest triumph that man can achieve.

Once a day, at least, recall very earnestly that
“You are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you.”
I Cor. iii. 15


Fifteenth Day of October

St. Ignatius tells us that it ought to be a familiar practice with us to see God present in everything and not to wait for the time of prayer to raise our souls toward heaven, but to make our life a continual prayer, so that we find no less devotion in any work of charity and obedience than we do in prayer itself: for every one of our actions ought to be performed solely for the love and service of God.

When St. Teresa had been thinking that her life would be less full of failings if she gave up some external works, Our Lord said, “Courage, it cannot be otherwise; endeavor thou always, in everything to have a right intention, and to look at Me.”

To live in the presence of God, and to breathe the atmosphere of prayer are unmistakable marks of “a life hid with Christ in God.”

Every day of your life persevere in prayer; for if you neglect this duty, you will be like a soldier going into battle without his weapons—a mere target for the enemy.

Thoughts of Father Bernard Vaughan, S.J.




Ask yourself: how does this matter affect me personally, what lesson does it convey to me, what suggestion for a better life, how can I improve my conduct; resolve to become a saint at any cost; think upon the eternal years; pray to the Holy Ghost that He may lead you in the way of perfection; finally recite attentively and devotedly the following Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit:

Oh Holy Spirit, divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to Thee my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Thy heavenly inspirations, and to the teaching of the Church, of which Thou art the infallible guide; may my heart be ever inflamed with love of God and of my neighbor; may my will be ever conformed to the divine will, and may my whole life be a faithful imitation of the life and virtue of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and Thee be honor and glory forever. Amen.
Self-Conquest. Rev. F. X. Lasance. 1936. @selfconquest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09