Do You Question Religion? Yes, I went there.

in #religion7 years ago

I am a great fan of Dan Brown, author of Da Vinci Code, Inferno, Angels and Demons and, most recently Origin. Not necessarily for the mastery of words, though I do find he has that, but for the questions it poses and has readers, and non-readers, asking.

As the inquisitive daughter of a minister, I had so many questions but growing up in the church as the daughter of the minister I felt it was assumed I knew what I needed to know. But I didn't, I was lost and silent - afraid to ask the questions that were haunting me.

In an interview recently on CBC Radio, Brown was asked what started this line of books and he put simply, I started learning science and asked my church leader about evolution to be told "nice boys don't ask those questions."

I fully support your religious belief, whatever that may be and love that you have that to guide you but yes, I do have questions. I'm intrigued, curious and simply want to learn. I enjoy civil debates, without calling each other insulting names or saying either is wrong - we are all right, well, mostly, in our opinions I just want to have an open discussion and not be told I'm wrong for asking.

really.. is that too much to ask?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70