You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Active Listening

in #relationships7 years ago

I loved this article, truly.
I think making the decision to really listen to someone makes all the difference. As soon as I make the decision, quite the me-mind, and share my awareness and curiosity with the other person things begin to change. It's not just a gift for the person you are receiving but it's really a gift for you. Fully receiving someone can start to give you a portal into their world and something like that is so valuable and educational.

It does take practice and we can get so much better over time.

In the past I found NVC (non violent communication) to be a helpful model to use. Check it out; http://www.nonviolentcommunication.com/aboutnvc/4partprocess.htm

There are NVC trainings and also free/very-cheap workshops everywhere in north america. I learned so so much from attending just one workshop. Spending even a few hours just trying to work on your listening skills with a trained instructor can have a very long lasting impact, it did for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46