Re-introducing myself to my fellow Steemians

in #reintroduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

After hundreds of posts and about eight months of writing, it's time to re-introduce myself...

A few days ago, Steemit hit an amazing milestone: 1 million registered users! Having discovered Steemit about a year after I began delving into learning about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, I recently spotted an interesting article about the concept of Steemians re-introducing ourselves to these more recent recruits joining the Steemit eco-system.

It's been a while since I introduced myself to the crowd here at Steemit and I feel like I have learned a lot. The funny thing about learning is that you realize, ironically, how little you actually know about a given topic. Following about a year of reading up and exploring topics related to Bitcoin, and then a deeper dive into cryptocurrency, I began writing about what I had been learning in this realm. It's been a fascinating topic that I still find to be engaging and full of potential.

In fact, there is rarely a day that goes by that I don't want to write about something related to the world of crypto. It might be to do with the politics or philosophy of the topic, but more often it might just be about the little news events here and there that pique my interest. I have found that my understanding of the world of cryptocurrency has deepened and is less simplistic than it was months ago, but I admit, there is still a ton to learn.

And I suppose that's what keeps me coming back - learning more. I'm easily bored and also curious, so I have found writing about my learnings on Steemit has been an excellent creative outlet for me. Writing contests like @OriginalWorks have been of interest to me lately and have helped me learn about lesser known projects in the field. And I'm beginning to see more clearly that the ups and downs of the cryptocurrency market can not be simplistically attributed to any single event or factor. This whole industry and its growing market is fast-paced, volatile, and unpredictable. Like I said, the more I've learned, the more I realize I don't know.

And with that, I will readily admit, I still have not learned all the tricks of the trade when it comes to gathering followers and votes on Steemit. I find it to be a tough go sometimes and have often found more attention and dialogue when posting my articles on other platforms like Reddit, for example. I do think in the long term, that Steemit has more to offer, and it is a younger platform with more room to grow. But I'm guessing a lot of writers who first come to Steemit with high hopes might leave discouraged. It can be difficult to stay motivated sometimes.

Fortunately for me, I just can't seem to get tired of learning about the topic of cryptocurrency and I'll keep coming back for more and sharing what I've learned. If I were to give advice to new Steemians, for me it would be to write because you enjoy it and don't focus on making money. Just stick with it and do it for the enjoyment of it. If money comes, awesome. Think of it as a bonus for doing something you love doing.

If you have a passion for learning more about cryptocurrency, please drop a reply and stay in touch with me! I'd love to make more connections in this growing community!

image source:
https://wheatandtares.org/2016/09/10/shaking-hands-weekend-poll/

Oops - I put the tags in the wrong order and didn't show up in introduceyourself. I apologize for the double-post! Rookie mistake.

If you're interested in trading cryptocurrencies, check out CoinSquare and Binance by using the link in my profile and sign up today!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @xsid!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2535 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.14 : Follower / Witness voter indicator.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06