Vodka Bears and my first ever batch of Mulled Wine

in #recipes6 years ago

PicsArt_06-20-04.28.18.png

So we had the party on Saturday.... I wont elaborate but I will say thank god we all had that alcohol! I wasn't thanking god the next day or two though. I think I'm still recovering actually.

I'm getting old you guys. There was a time I'd finish my midnight shift, party with my friends, sleep for a couple of hours and do it all over again the next day. These days... Forget about it! I remember sleeping most of Sunday and Monday, and finally somewhat with it yesterday. 3 day recovery 😱😁

I'm going to have to switch things up a bit and back off the alco.

That said....

Vodka Bears

The vodka bears were a hit and I will definitely be making them for the Team Aus Christmas Party 😁. It was hard to tell if was alcoholic/"did the trick" or not, but it was tasty.

PicsArt_06-20-04.59.12.png

It's really easy to put together and I reckon you don't have to get bears or vodka. Any similar jelly like lolly I think would work and I'm not saying this because I have this thing with schnapps, but I think those would work too.

Ingredients

Vodka & Haribo gold bears

Method

  • Pour some bears in a bowl, pour a shot (or two) of vodka.
  • Mix around so all the bears get some vodka.
  • Put cling wrap over it and let it all soak in.
  • Stir occasionally.

And that's it! The bears start out tough but when it soaks up the vodka it softens up a bit. You'll get the outside vodka hit at the start and then the lolly flavour will start coming through until you get to the vodka hit in the middle.

It was a journey. It was pretty cool and so easy to make. I know you want to give it a go. Go on.. 😉 These are going to be a standard addition to my party table from now on.

Slow Cooker Mulled Wine with Brandy, Apples and Oranges

The mulled wine surprised me and I wonder what it would have tasted like with some apple cider like the recipe requested but as usual I didn't get all the ingredients I needed and had to improvise.

It was a cold and extremely windy day on Saturday, and even though we bought an outdoor gas heater, it was no match for the strong gusts. What ended up saving the night was the mulled wine.

It was hot and rich... Those spices, the brandy... The apples and oranges made me realise mulled wine is pretty much winter punch, and it was the perfect drink that night.

PicsArt_06-20-05.00.59.png

Ingredients

1L Dry Red Wine
1/4 cup Brandy
1/4 cup Honey
1 Apple thinly sliced
1 Orange thinly sliced
1 Star Anise
2 Cinnamon sticks
4 Cardamon Pods
4 Whole Cloves

Method

  • Add all ingredients into slow cooker.
  • Set on low for 1.5 hours.
  • Keep on warm when done.

Another easy one. With this recipe it's all about getting the ingredients together and that's it.

I ended up topping it up with more wine and brandy throughout the night and seriously you guys, aint nothing like a warm alcoholic drink on a bitter cold and windy night.

Hell, who am I kidding... I've been wanting to make another batch all week but couldn't justify making up 1l just for myself, on a week day... with my liver still recovering and all...

You guys in Melbourne might want to give the mulled wine a go. I had a peek at the weather channel team australia room today and looked like you're all freezing down there. This might help out 😉

Do you have super easy party recipes? If you do please share!

Have a great night Steemit

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Two shots of vodka bears are always better than one........Cheers

I love those vivid translucent red colors!

If it's just a mild kick from the alcohol it has then it's just right for me. Thank you for sharing.

Is it just a simple gummy bears?

It is just a mild kick and yup simple gummy bears!

Just thinking about them makes me want to make another batch....

Oh definitely gonna wait for it! ^^,

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

sarap niyan mommy.. gusto ko ng mga ganyang inumin..

Try it Jez! I might try it with Emperador next time!

natry ko npo gumawa dati generoso tpos lagyan ng 22 pcs calamansi..masarap siya..

That mulled wine looks beautiful! Gotta give this a try next party.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85