Making Homemade Peanut Butter .. Then making Mud Balls .. I was not about to pay $1.29 for a Reece's Peanut Butter Cup .. Here is the alternative :)

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

375D41E1-1.jpg

Today was our day to pick our granddaughter up from school .. As always, she asked Papa for a treat (he typically has something for her when he knows she is coming). Today was different than most days as we were not prepared with that treat we typically have for her. We stopped on the way home from school at the grocery store to see what we could find good. Avery decided she wanted a Reece's Peanut Butter Cup .. WHAT!!!!! $1.29 for 1 candy bar?? Sorry, that is ridiculous!!!!

I remembered back when our kids were younger and I would whip up some homemade peanut butter .. then Mud Balls :) These were always a hit with the kids and only required very minimal ingredients. I made a quick decision that this was what I was going to do .. with the help of Avery of course.

RECIPE FOR HOMEMADE PEANUT BUTTER:
3 Cups of roasted peanuts shelled - remove the brown skin
3 Tablespoons peanut oil

5C1E688C-1.jpg
Avery and I had fun removing the shells and brown skin from the peanuts - it took us approximately 30 minutes to get 3 cups of shelled peanuts.

184994DB-1.jpg
Proof of this madness :)

9BE4F3F0-1.jpg
Here is 3 cups of shelled peanuts and 3 tablespoons of peanut oil

Using a blender, blend the peanuts and peanut oil until a very smooth consistency .. I guess you could leave it somewhat chunky if you like your peanut butter chunky.

3FDD96A5-1.jpg

80E50722-1.jpg

This made approximately 1.5 cups of peanut butter which is just enough for the Mud Balls :)

B6701432-1.jpg

RECIPE FOR THE MUD BALLS:
1.5 Cups Homemade Peanut Butter - you could use store bought if you prefer
1/4 Cup Dry Milk
1/4 Cup Honey
2 Cups of either chocolate graham crackers or chocolate teddy grahams crushed
**NOTE: Half of the chocolate graham crackers should be chopped and the other half should be real fine like dust

0D81494B-1.jpg
Ingredients for the Mud Balls

57F5381A-1.jpg
Man, this dry milk reminds me when I was a kid - my mom, who always had limited funds, would make us powdered milk. I just remember how watery it was .. what in the world am I going to do with the remaining box of dry milk? Any suggestions?

29170AEB-1.jpg
I had to use Teddy Grahams because they did not have any chocolate graham crackers at the store .. In this bowl is 1/2 of the Teddy Grahams crushed but not too fine.

526D2ADE-1.jpg
This is the 2nd half of the Teddy Grahams - you want them really fine like dust - I put them in the blender to do this.

09559892-1.jpg
This is the result - this will be used to roll the balls in :)

So once you have all of the ingredients ready to go, mix the following items together in a large bowl:

Peanut Butter, Honey, Dry Milk and crushed graham crackers(the crushed ones, not the fine dusty ones).

6C4F361B-1.jpg

17A677BD-1.jpg
Mix all together until well blended

You will need to put the Mud Ball mix into the refrigerator for approximately 15 minutes - this will keep them from being too sticky when you go to roll them into balls.

After about 15 minutes, remove them from the refrigerator and roll them into 3/4 inch balls .. actually, you can make them whatever size you prefer .. I prefer them to be approximately 3/4 inch balls. Roll them in the chocolate graham cracker dust .. they are ready to eat!!!! For me, I like them to go back into the refrigerator for another 15 minutes or so but Avery could not wait any longer .. she chomped them down :)

16D7A6CA-1.jpg

375D41E1-1.jpg

This recipe makes approximately 18 balls .. depending on the size you roll. They should last in the refrigerator for approximately 5 days .. they certainly will not last long in our house :)

For a healthier alternative, you could use nonfat powered milk and low-fat graham crackers. We went all out and got the unhealthy items :) The dry milk does have milk in it therefore this does not qualify as vegan :(

Most children love peanut butter, which is a good source of protein for growth and repair of the body. Sometimes younger children have trouble with the peanut butter sticking to the roof of their mouth, you can thin the peanut butter a bit by adding some milk .. this should prevent gagging.

Did you know that the average American child eats approximately 1500 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches by the time they graduate high school? I did not know this .. I cannot even imagine a stack of 1500 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches .. that seems like a lot!!!!

I hope you enjoyed this post and I would love for you to try this recipe and stop back by and comment your results. With the upcoming Holidays, this may be a recipe you may want to share with Family and Friends.

Thank you so much for visiting today Friends .. Have a GREAT rest of your week .. SUNSHINE247 Loves you!!!!!

Sort:  

Came looking for you was worried where do you live, sunshine247. Worried about all these huricanes. This looks very delicious. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you Friend .. This past week I was so busy with work that I have not been able to get my daily dose of Steemit in :( I will be back tonight and tomorrow though :) You are awesome for thinking of me .. I will be checking out your post tonight .. I hate missing your wonderful posts .. Love you Friend!!! SUNSHINE247

Congratulations @sunshine247! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are so good for making your own peanut butter. MMM my fav chocolate combo! YUM! Inspired me to make some home made nut butters now!

Wow, this sounds really tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I would love to try it and I'm sure they wouldn't last long here (with 5 kids and a mom who loves peanut butter)!! I ate a PBJ sandwich pretty much every day of my school years. I just love them. And we still eat them pretty much every day for lunch. Thanks for the post!!

Hi Friend ... Thank you so much for visiting today :) Its also a fun recipe to try with the kids .. they will have a blast!!! I would love for you to comment back if you try them and let me know what you think :) Have a GREAT rest of your weekend!!! SUNSHINE247

I live in Panama and I'm not sure I can find peanut oil (although I can get store bought peanut butter). I also have never seen regular graham crackers so I'm pretty sure chocolate ones will be out of the question. I need to look or I could use those chocolate sandwich cookies like Oreos. I need to see what I can find. If it makes 18, each of us will get 3! :)

Use whatever kind of oil you would like - I just used peanut oil to stay consistent but I have used vegetable oil before and it was just as yummy

Thanks Friend!!! Thank you for visiting today .. I hope you have an AMAZING day!! SUNSHINE247

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86