Traditional dessert of Venezuela

in #recipe5 years ago (edited)

Since I'm in Steemit I like to highlight the beauty of Venezuela, in the past post several posts highlighting part of its tropical beauty and cuisine, today I have new people who are giving me their support and that makes me happy, for that and for them yesterday I published a typical Venezuelan drink, papelón with lemon, today I want to show you our beloved quesillo, very similar to flan, but in Venezuela our quesillo is very well known, it is the companion in the birthday of the cake and the gelatin that mostly make it colors.

I will tell you some facts about this delicious Venezuelan dessert so you can get to know it a bit more:

  • The quesillo is considered a version of the Spanish roast milk, it looks a lot, but it is still unique.

  • The preparation is 100% Venezuelan in origin and in its purest state is composed of: beaten eggs, condensed milk, vanilla essence and liquid milk.

  • It should not be confused with custard, since the quesillo is prepared with whole eggs and the flan only takes the yolks.

  • It is called quesillo because of the porosity of the dessert, which reminds of the traditional dimples of a cheese.

  • If you walk through Mexico and hear the word quesillo, do not get too excited as this
    is the name given to Oaxaca cheese in some parts of the center and south of the country when it is already frayed and ready to consume.

  • The tradition tells that in each house there is a unique quesillo and that none will resemble the previous one, either because there are those who put more ingredients or unique ingredients following a family recipe.

In the case of this last fact is very true, I instead of vanilla I put liquor, and I never have one flavor equal to the other but they all remain very tasty.

IMG_20180615_160351.jpg

Este quesillo lo hice yo y les voy a compartir mi receta:

Ingredients:

  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 can of condensed milk
  • 1 can of liquid milk (the measure is that of the can of condensed milk)
  • Vanilla to taste (I prefer a little bit of liquor can be rum)
  • Wheat flour (less than one tablespoon)
  • Sugar for caramel (approximately 150 grs)

Preparation:

First I made my candy, put the sugar and a little water in the cheese cellar and bring it to low heat as the sugar melted I was scattering it through the cheese cellar, we must be aware that we do not put the dark candy because it was left bitter. In the blender I beat the 4 eggs a while, then add the two milks, vanilla and wheat flour, liquefy everything very well, once ready I poured the mixture into the cheese cellar and take it to a bain-marie for about an hour with medium heat When I did the test with the tip of a knife I took it out of the hot water and put it to rest.

Sort:  

Your desserts always make me hungry!

Hello Friend how are you? It is always a pleasure to hear from you, if you lived in Venezuela, you would surely try my desserts

🏆 Hi @jennimorillo! You have received 0.25 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @steem12
Subscribe and increase the reward for @jennimorillo :) | For investors.

This sounds like creme caramelle...so I will definitely try it.

In the last few years, condensed milk cans have been changed from 480gr to 385gr - the ones you use for 4 eggs, what size are they?

Hello I hope you do it and it is very tasty, it is 397 gr

Thanks...and I have Bookmarked your post so that I have the recipe whenver I want it.

Thank you very much, I send greetings from Venezuela

Excelente como siempre, un abrazo

Gracias amiga linda, un beso!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97