Nine Years Without You - in memory of my dad

in #realtalk5 years ago

Today marks the ninth anniversary of my father's death. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I miss him.

He could be hysterical and infuriating. He taught me to be patient. He led by example; to be humble and a little self-deprecating without losing one's sense of self. He was a dedicated family man and made hard decisions for the benefit of his children.

He did stupid stuff like this:

dad-v-lobster-IG.jpg

Oh my god, this picture makes me laugh until I want to cry.

My brother and I collaborated on a song that we still have to finish, but the lyrics are dedicated to my dad. The first line starts with, "I never thought that I'd be living without the presence of your smile..."

You can see our practice session here.

image.png

As I scroll through family photos, I can feel a heavy layer of homesickness cover me like a soaked blanket. A wistfulness for times passed, moments shared, laughing, fighting, and just being in the same room because it was positive energy and filled with love.

dad-babyme.jpg
Dad & I (1972)

We were supposed to have a trip to Ireland and go on a beer tour. One day I'm going to take him there.

dads-ashes.jpg

I figure if I lose him in a pub, it would be the perfect place to say
Slán go fóill
bye for now

John M. Buley

1950 - 2010

image.png

This is the soundtrack that's been playing in my head today

divider.png


created by @kookyan

Cast your witness votes wherever you are!

You have votes. Make them count.

Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | SnapChat | Trybe | PALNet | SprtsHub | Medium | Whaleshares | Steemit

merej99_red_steemusa.png

Sort:  

You have wonderful memories of him. :)

He's my first love. LOL I'm such a daddy's girl!

That is sweet :)

I feel already your emotions about your father @merej99
Just be strong inside and take care :)

I am just fortunate that I still am enjoying the presence of my parents.

Aww so sweet and sad and then your closing is epic 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @merej99! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 comments. Your next target is to reach 13000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@merej99 You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86