How many real estate investors are on Steemit?

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

I know crypto currencies are all the rage right now. I think there is a ton of potential in crypto, but I also love real estate. I am pretty much addicted to buying houses. I bought have bought 31 properties in 2017.

My latest flip:
20171113_122526.jpg

So who else is investing in real estate and what strategies are you using?

Wholesaling?
Flipping?
Rentals?
Notes?
Tax Liens?

I am also curious about the comparisons between real estate and Crypto. Pros and Cons? I am fairly new to crypto but have been buying properties for 15 plus years. I have a great handle on real estate, but I am still learning about cryptos.

I see huge opportunities with crypto currencies, but my biggest challenge is understanding it all. One thing I love about Steemit is I understand the concept and think it is brilliant. There can be great capital appreciation, but it can also be tough knowing when to take your profits. I know there are many people much smarter about crypto than me, and I am sure I will learn a lot here.

As far as real estate, I have done very well and see no reason to abandon a great thing. Some of the advantages of real estate (these are US specific):

*Leverage: You can usually get loans for 80 percent of the purchase of a home when buying an investment. In some cases you can use techniques to get all your investment back.

*Buying below market value: Many cryptos may be undervalued, but for the most part you still buy them at market value. You can buy real estate for less than market value. I flipped 26 houses this year and I made my money by getting awesome deals. My goal is to buy houses for 30 percent less than market value minus the repair amount.

*Fantastic cash flow: If you buy rentals they should make money every month after expenses and paying the mortgage. I shoot for at least a 15 percent return on my cash. These returns do not count buying below market, tax advantages, principal pay down, or appreciation.

*Tax advantages: Rentals have amazing tax advantages in the US. Almost all expenses are deductible and you can depreciate the structure of the property as well. If you sell the properties you pay the lower capital gains rate of 15 or 20 percent. Flips will be getting better tax treatment with the new tax law that was just passed as well if you use a pass through entity. How will the new tax law affect real estate?

I am trying to buy as many rentals and flips as I can. One of the downfalls of buying rentals, is that not every market is great for cash flow. I had awesome luck buying rentals from 2010 to 2015 in Colorado, but prices have skyrocketed and rents have not come close to keeping up. I bought commercial rentals this year instead of residential because they numbers are so much better.

I would love to hear everyone's thoughts on real estate versus crypto. I think crypto could provide some great capital for me to buy more real estate, but I am not counting on anything yet. I love the concept of Steemit because you are earning for the quality you provide instead of just buying something and hoping it goes up in value. I own bitcoin, Litecoin, and Ether right now. I am looking to buy some alt coins soon as well.

If anyone is curious about my properties I have a flip page that shows all the properties I have bought in the last year with before and after videos here: https://investfourmore.com/flips/

I have the numbers and some videos of my rental properties here: https://investfourmore.com/all-of-my-rentals/

My last rental purchase:
20171023_105209.jpg

Sort:  

It's nice to see another contributor in the sphere of real estate investing on Steemit! We've just joined today and as far as we know are the only mobile home park experts/investors on the site. Hope we can stay connected. Upvoted your post and following you. In addition to your original question about real estate investing and cryptocurrencies, we recently wrote a great article on the subject (not featured at Steemit) for our private subscribers. Here is the link. Hope you find it informative! https://www.mcanuffgroup.com/so/3M1m7l7Y?cid=172e40ac-38b6-45e2-9a3c-519132ee2fa4#/main

Welcome to Steemit! I have been here a week now and it has been a ton of fun. I have not seen anything on mobile home parks

Looks like we are both trend-setters then! Cheers to an interesting and exciting 2018...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @investfourmore to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83