RANT: STEEM/HIVE DRAMA CONTINUES

in #rant4 years ago

So a quick update, I woke feeling much better this morning. The fever is gone. I just have a stuffy nose to deal with at this point.

Now to today's business. I woke to see that hive was down by 40%. It's unfortunate that I sold all my liquid steem yesterday. I also found out that a Korean exchange was responsible for the downturn. Well, they got their airdrop and can do as they see fit with it. However, I am really pissed at the steem Korean community--especially their leadership. And you know how I am when I am pissed. Well, I did make sure they had a piece of my mind. It's embarrassing the length they would go. They've collided with Justin to freeze certain accounts on steem which they totally kicked against some weeks back. Their narrative is that they are doing it to protect steem, well wasn't this what the witnesses tried to do--stop before Justin's hostile takeover, but they wanting to be neutral while making obnoxious demands. It is quite hypocritical to me. They aren't different from the witnesses they hate so much.

I am not expecting the tension to die down for the next 10-11 weeks after all the buying and swiping. What will happen within this timeframe will determine steem's future and not Hive. Hive does not solely depend on price--steem does. It's the only thing they can successfully brag about at this point. All they've managed to do in the past few weeks is play catch up. I thought they were making some progress by having some non-Asian witnesses but that was thrown out of the door when they came up with their said soft fork. I guess anyone with common sense wouldn't implement that. Aside from the risk of getting delisted, it's more bad publicity for steem and Justin who has been in the shadows for the most part. I don't think he cares about the project. This is simply just a game to him and it's sad to watch really.

The reality is, if by any chance steem and hive go to shit, it will have little or no impact on Justin. That's something both the steem and hive community need to consider. Tron is his project, not steem. He might own a lot of stake and even steemit but that's only a means to an end. He has totally dissociated himself from steem while his minions do the work. Very typical.

It's going to take 11 weeks for things to get back to normal. The tension is needed. I know we have a lot of peace-loving people her but asides the drama it's more or less a strategy to win people on either side. Personally, steem has little to lure me. Most of the people who have developed the steem blockchain are on hive. Those at the hem of affairs at steem are busy playing catch-up. No track record or whatsoever. They seem embarrassingly clueless. They speak about milking the steem reward pool while one of theirs is making over $200 per day posting graphs but that's not a problem, the former hive witnesses are bad and are their only problem. Oh well, I forget not receiving the hive airdrop part.

It's pathetic to watch. My only attachment to steem is my stake and the potential of milking it. I say 'milk' because I don't have much interest in the growth of the steem blockchain. However, that doesn't mean I will shitpost all over the place. I still do a decent job of posting something worthwhile.

Also, I'm still on steem for speculative reasons. Yes, of course, I know the project is dead. There is nothing they can do to revive their dead image.

Screenshot_2020040613065223.png

These are the top news relating to steem on google. It would have been easier if none of them were true but unfortunately, they are. The best steem has gotten in terms of public awareness (especially within the crypto community) was the fight against Justin's hostile takeover followed by The spilt chain and steem new reality of being a centralized blocktrade. Asides the Korean community (because of their spite for the former witnesses) and Justin there is no one with a sane mind that would be interesting in steem (well only for speculating reason and that doesn't build the infrastructure needed for the blockchain). However, trust Justin and the Koreans to inflate the price of steem once in a while which all of such gains will be transferred to hive. I would rather buy hive at $0.10 than steem at $0.30. in fact if steem is three times the value of hive it gives me a better opportunity to acquire more hive.

Justin and the steem Korean community cannot hold steem up for too long. They can only try. Pump and dump. The real value is in the community. Not one simple post from steemit Inc has engendered the confidence of the community, well expect you're looking for quick cash (in relation to their new curation plan to help the nonexistent community). I need money too. More reason why I can't be investing in a dead project. However you want to see it, hive is a more diverse project than steem and I want to believe after all the drama we can focus on our major projects like SMTs and openseed. There is nothing right now for steem asides reviving a dead project and thinking Justin will revive the dead image of the blockchain is quite comical. He can't even run a successful social platform on his Tron blockchain. The confidence people have in this man is astonishing. Well, he is a billionaire so it is an assumption that he knows what he is doing.

I'm not saying hive is perfect but it's is a better bet really. There is nothing about the steem blockchain that inspires confidence, not one. So I'm totally in on working on this imperfect thing with the rest of the hive community. I really do wish steem put their house in other, for the sanity for their blockchain but how can they? Justin/steemit controls everything from who gets what and when. Real people are becoming sockpuppets so they can get back at the witnesses for not getting airdrops? Everyone who I have seen stay back on steem to build are doing so out of spite or because they do not feel included in the hive community. If the latter is your case then my honest advice to you is to build elsewhere. You don't have to be part of this mockery. It's not a dichotomy between steem and hive. There are other crypto-related projects you can get involved in. The thing is, a lot of us are lazy and resist change. Many people want to hold on to the steem brand--which has suffered over the years. I'm honestly glad hive came by the way because I was honestly tired of the steem brand. Anybody outside the blockchain who knows about steem didn't want to be associate with it. Hive, on the other hand, has the opportunity of creating a better image for itself, something steem will never be capable of.

We all have a choice really. I can't coerce anyone into believing the things I believe. Given the circumstances on road, I believe only time will tell which blockchain will survive.

Sort:  

If I post the same content on Hive and steem, will it be flagged on either platform?? I really like steem and I haven't joined Hive yet but what I hear about steem these days scare me.

No you won't. It's your content and they are both different platforms

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87