Service Interruption

in #rant6 years ago

api.steemit.com was not available for service.
Same goes for rpc.buildteam.io
I had to change to steemviz, to get a proper transfer committed.

Bid Bots still voted in proper ways, there was no interruption.
Just the daily delegation payout was delayed.

This happened also last Friday.
And the week before.

<rant>
This is, why Steem is not decentralised.
There are 5?6? rpc nodes, where one can commit something to the blockchain.
And the centralised services, like Steemit, Busy, Dtube, Dmania, etc.
There is no existing client.
All of them rely on the 5ish rpc nodes out there.

Yes, the big ones have their own private rpc nodes.
Good laugh, how can one afford 150€/month to operate such a node?
Does it cost that much, to havee a bitcoin node at home?
I doubt it.
The structure of steem is currently broken.
Yes, the top 20 Witnesses make enough, to pay for there node farms.
But below T50, it is impossible to afford anything.
Lucky me, I have my Spam Tax, where I get a bit of mSBD back.
But this does not help, if a rpc node needs 512 GB RAM.

Also, there is already one node, that blocks one of my VPS.
Censorfree my ass!
</rant>

Anyway, I had a nice discussion with a loyal supporter and customer.
New features for our bid bots to be expected soon..ish
:)

Want more rants? You can vote for me as witness and get a passive income doing so.

Sort:  

It is very bad for 3rd.party app developers. I am thinking about running my own private jussi instance because of the usual interruptions on public nodes.

This post has been upvoted by @minibot with 16.6%!
Thank you for giving your trust and witness vote to my creator @isnochys!
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @minibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28