The Monotony of Korea.

in #random7 years ago

This is a completely impromptu post that I am writing on my way home from work... Which just happens to be two hours, giving me a long time to be bored and think about life.

This is not the first time I have noticed this, definitely not. In fact I was going to write something about this back in February, I just never got around to it. While I love Korea, today I want to focus on one of the aspects that sticks out to me still. One that could easily be considered negative.

Korean apartment buildings are world famous for efficiency of space, and the amount of people they can house in such small areas. I have been in many of these apartments, and I can say for sure that many of them are very very nice. However externally... Seoul just looks like a monotonous array of buildings, the same buildings. I just took this picture, and I hope it can help visualise what I am talking about:

20170816_180036-01.jpeg

Draw your eyes to the horizon and you will see exactly what I mean (sorry for the distance, I was on my way to the subway station and they caught my eye on the horizon). Tens of buildings standing tall next to each other, but all the same, minus their numbers '101, 102, 103'.

Anyway, like I said, this was just something that caught my eye on the way home. But it is definitely not the first time I have noticed it.. it is everywhere over Seoul. I think you would very hard pressed to not be able to see these specific buildings anywhere in seoul.

While I won't pass my personal opinion on this matter... Mainly because even after all this time, I still don't have one, it's definitely something that I think about a bit. Everytime I see these buildings I am overwhelmed... So many similar looking buildings! And they are spreading out of Korea too.

I want to know what others think though? Is this increase in efficiency, resources and decrease in space worth the lack of... Personality? Houses are great, and I lived in a house with a massive garden for my whole life. But we can't deny most of these houses are incredibly inefficent and wasteful.

Here are some more examples to show exactly what I mean... While some of the buildings are a little different (I am just choosing from pictures I already have), they are all very similar. The only thing that differentiates them by looks is when they were built.

20170408_135202-01.jpeg

DSC_0164-01.jpeg

IMG_4432-01.jpeg

Anyway, just one of the many things I ponder about on the way home... what does everyone else think?

Thanks for listening to my random thoughts!

Seoul is still an amazing and beautiful place :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67