A Ramble Write Delight

in #ramblewrite5 years ago

A Weekend In Review


IMG_4793.JPG
Crazy Cora, AKA Feffiss Schnables McBits, demands your attention!!

Hmm. Tonight, if I am too be honest, I just don't feel like writing something coherent. The thing is, I haven't posted anything for four whole days. ARGH! The horror of it all. It's not like I don't want to interact with the ol' blockchain, and I definitely miss chit chatting with you all, it's just that I've been rather busy doing things.

As I pondered this reluctance to create blogawesomeness, a little glimmer of a thought popped into my mind. Other people have created tags and schticks, maybe I could do that sort of a thing too. Tonight, I just wanted to spit out little anecdotes of amusement about incidents that brought me joy over the last four days of my Steemit silence, and it hit me, I shall call this post a Ramble Write! I mean the tag #ramblewrite just looks fun, and who knows, maybe some other Steemit peeps will do some Ramble Writes on days they just want to share interesting life events with the rest of us. I know I enjoy perusing what others around the globe are up too!

So, off to the Rambling composition races we go!


Yesterday was my son's first basketball game of the season. He's in sixth grade and plays for our town's local Park and Rec league. In true small town style, our Park and Rec director just up and quit. What made that fact a bit interesting is when we arrived at the local junior high for his game, we heard an alarm shrieking. We wandered up to the gym entrance and discovered that everyone had broken into the Junior high, no one had a key for the lights, and everyone, parents and players alike, were milling about in general confusion. Our new Park and Rec director stepped into the fray. She is my neighbor and I just know she is going to go all Leslie Knope for our town. In a few minutes time she had a ref for our game, some emergency lights on, and lined out someone to keep score and time the game. I had flashbacks to my street ball days watching the kids warm up in the barely lit gym. All we needed was some gangtsa rap, some Mountain Dew and I might have put my sweatshirt on backwards and started showing off my old and busted b-ball moves.

The game itself was legend. My son was on a team in a neighboring town for the last two years, but this year my neighbor and my son hatched a plan to have our boy play for our neighbor's team. I was okay with this development because that meant I didn't have to drive my son to practice, as my neighbor would take him along with their son. Bonus! Here's the interesting part. My boy is about a foot taller and seventy pounds heavier than any of the other kids. He's also left handed, so it was like watching Lurch play basketball against a bunch of chihuahuas. Our Bobo would get the ball, lumber down the court at a gallop, stop and sedately sink the ball into the hoop. I am pretty sure that most of the crowd died laughing as the kids would bounce against our son trying to grab the ball from him, he would leisurely just hold the ball in the air and pass it to one of his teammates or plunk it in the basket. One time, when a small fry bounced off of our kid's stout Hawaiian frame, I was worried that I might have to get my dad some oxygen due to his excessive laughter. Ron wasn't rambling, he was rolling!

Our son brought us more laughter as we engaged in our weekly skeet shooting practice. As we walked out to our shooting range to blast a few clays out of the sky, one of our friends just started giggling. She was also shaking her head.

"What?" I queried as I was curious to the source of her amusement.

"Your kid. He's just wild." she replied.

This is what my boy wore to go shoot shotguns in the snow:

IMG_4719 (2).JPG

I am so immune to his fashion choices that his attire of football cleats and shorts didn't even phase me....


One of the most fun moments of the last couple days occurred on the way to Bobo's basketball game. My brother stopped by to caravan up to the Junior High with us. He had put a new stereo in his Duramax beast pickup, and as a caring sister, I announced that I was going to ride with him to assess just how excellent the new stereo was. We are getting older, so his sound listening palate is improving with age. It's not just all about the bass anymore, apparently the new system had a lot more clarity.

IMG_4752.JPG
Behold! The Master Of Stereo And Vinyl Flooring Installation!!!

Well, I could hear everything really well as we blasted up the hill toward town, and I am pretty sure the denizens of our little burg could hear the crispness of my bro's sound system too. I know this fact to be true because we serenaded half the town as we drove through. I belted our Huey Lewis and The News' Heart and Soul with a sufficient amount of gusto in order to match the sound system's melodious projections. One guy even tripped when my bro and I did a duet moment, it magical.


There was also a spontaneous girl's makeup and face mask party, a creepy co-worker stalking complete with an orange post it note in the back windshield hello, a new neighbor moving in (complete with six huskies!), and a whole plethora of cookery happened. Honestly, I could Ramble Write for days, for I have determined my life is kinda excellent. There's an adventure around every snow berm for sure, and I will endeavor to continue sharing them. One thing's for sure, I will be checking the #ramblewrite tag in hopes to read and upvote the tales of your experiences too!!!


And as pretty much always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's long suffering and non-rusting iPhone.


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

I am sure I will find an occasion for the new tag! Especially since I think my whole life is a bit of a ramble nowadays. I love Bobo's sense of fashion, and his oblivion to the temperature. And I think I need to watch one of his game someday. The poor kiddos on the opposing teams must take one look at him and inwardly faint.

Yes! More rambles! I am always rambling on a bit too, but it's just because there is a plethora of data ping pongin around in my cortex, so I never know how its going to pour out, lol! Can't wait to read your scribblings!!!

Bobo has always been a bit unique in the fashion department, but I will relay that you enjoy it. He has games at the junior high every Saturday, they are a hoot for sure:)

Oh my God! Don't you know that I love this #RambleWrite?? I mean, who in their right mind doesn't have something to ramble about? Perhaps I should rephrase that! If you look at every single one of my posts, they're nothing but short and long Rambles. I have been told that I don't keep to tasks, and I don't even keep to the subject. But that's just the way my brain works and if I waited until I had a clear moment and a real story, I would never post.

So I am definitely taking this home to press it around and hope that this tag takes off because I absolutely love it! I don't think I can be any more clear than that, but if you don't get it I'll try another way.

As for Bobo oh, he is a true Fashionista! I have been known to wear shorts with snow on the ground and the people around here have just accepted me for who I am. It just so happens that even in the winter, if the roads are clear, I will run in the snow with shorts. Okay, let me be clear with that. I do not Dash through the snow in my shorts. I jog on the sidewalk or on the road, usually the road. I know that this makes all the difference in the world, right? I have been known on occasion to wear long pants and even boots, but I can assure you that my legs complain about it the entire time. Perhaps I was meant to live in Hawaii or in the tropics instead of this god-forsaken political rattrap here. Now, you know that I'm kidding and I just absolutely love the Washington DC area! Has its moments. The only time I detest it here is when there is something political or riotous going on.

I will bet you any amount of money that you were a force to be reckoned with when you were doing your thing, dribbling that bball down the court. I can say that there are school districts the import kids that they know be the stars of the team. It's like stacking the deck at Las Vegas! LOL I want you to know I can totally picture you and your bro rocking out in his truck. It's this image that you have to keep up. Oh yes, life is good. Some days it's even better than that. You know I'll be rambling. It's what I do. Thank you so much for this little ramble and honest to God this is the most brilliant idea that I've heard in a long time!

Ramble on!!!

Upped and steemed

!tip

@dswigle, I just love ya! As a fellow rambler, I absolutely get it! My mind is always wandering around too, and I think that being that way is super excellent! Let the to the point people stay on topic, we will float around everything like observational jellyfish, lol lol! Now I am just happy that the tag popped into my weirdo brain so that you can run with it, because you are a blogging superstar!

Hmm. I think dashing through the snow in shorts could possibly be good for the lymph system, shock and awe and all that, he he! It's so excellent that you don shorts in the chilly times, Bobo will be happy to know he is not alone, and I didn't know that you are a runner, that's amazing! I have a dear friend who is a long distance runner, and a crazy cousin who is an extreme trail runner. She comes back from a jog of like twenty miles up the summit of some peak in New Zealand or something, egads! Alas, I don't pound the trails or pavement much, but I do so admire people who do.

As someone of slightly diminutive stature, I have a bit of a competitive side born from years of short people taunts. I still play volleyball and softball, and people respect the fiesty, ha! Ooh! We both ramblereplied now, it's so great! I am in a fantastic mood because I just met my new neighbors and they are super excellent, which let me tell you, is a relief.

I raise my keto coffee in a toast to future rambles together! Keep on rambling on my friend!!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

What a lovely little TrufflePig bot you are, thank you kindly! 😊

🎁 Hi @generikat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Those Moments... Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh most excellent! I am always looking for a good excuse to post some random silliness and your tag will be just the ticket, er tag, you know! Too cool, man, er girl :)

Yes! Old Guy rambling will be legend! I also might have slightly excitement jumped out of my chair when I said that, only slightly, 😁

@generikat You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87