KTM Orange Day Motorcycle Race!

in #racing6 years ago

Hey guys! 

Let me share some of my old racing days with you all!

I was in love with KTM ever since I had seen it on a 2010 copy of BSMotoring Magazine. 

They had featured a 125cc KTM Duke in it and had mentioned that it might launch in India. 

I was pretty young back then and thought it was out of my league to get this bike and started looking for other alternatives. 

But my heart was still on the KTM Duke. 

Fast forward to 2012. 

KTM finally launched the Duke 200 in India. 

But still it was out of my reach. I would just stare at the ones that would whirr past me on the streets. 

Fast forward to 2015. 

I finally got my hands on one. This was one of the happiest days of my life. I became an owner of the brand new Duke 200. I went for black color as it looks pretty classy. 

And in 2016, I took part in Orange Day race organized by KTM. 

Here are some pictures from the event:

Flag off!

Team Wanderers On Wheels with KTM Manager Clive. 

That's Me, Manu, Clive and Ashray (From L to R).

Registration Desk. You have to have a driver's license to participate and need to provide details like blood group, address, emergency contact etc. to get a spot. Once you register, you'll get a number. I usually prefer 21 but it's hard to get it sometimes if it's already taken. 

A famous track racer showing us how it is done before the start of the race. Can you spot @varunpinto in the picture? 

He's trending these days :P 

The line-up!

And that's the track!

Riya Palekar: KTM Mangalore's Official model back then. 

After track walk and instructions, time for a photo session before the race. 

Participants were made to pick chits to get their grid positions. So this game is mostly pure luck. Whoever gets #1 position is most probably going to win. It's pretty tough to overtake on these narrow tracks.  

Later, there were some stunt sessions!

Wheelies! Lots of them.

Rolling stoppies, burnouts and what not! 

This is one of the most famous stunt team in India. They're called Throttlerz!

To give you the feel of the race, here's a video I shot during my participation in it. 

 

Got the feels of a racer?

Great!

See you at the next one.

Follow me @wandereronwheels for Motorcycle Adventures around India!

Sort:  

wow, that's a tight circuit but it looks fun on and off the track. Great spirit. I stopped racing back in 2004, but man, some days I really miss it.

Thanks buddy! Why did you stop it?
It's hard to manage life without motorcycles once we are addicted to it, don't you think?

I stopped racing at age 45, money and age, too little of one and too much of the other. I didn't stop motorcycles and for the last 10 years I've been riding around the world on a motorbike with very little money .. hence Poor Circulation :-)

Nice to see your first post after following. So you are biker. Which is your fav. Stunt bro. I never tried any kind of stunt but soon i start practice on my bike.

Thank you @kamesh! All kinds of stunts are fun. :D

nice post.tnx for shearing

Noce comint. tnx 4 cheering! :D

thank you boss

I like it crooser god

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01